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What does the law say? 

 The board of education of a school district shall 
award a high school diploma to any person 
requesting a diploma if such person: (1) Is at 
least 17 years of age; (2) is enrolled or resides 
in such school district; (3) is or has been a child 
in the custody of the secretary at any time on 
or after such person’s 14th birthday; and (4) 
has achieved at least the minimum high school 
graduation requirements adopted by the state 
board of education. 
 

 The board of education of a school district shall 
award a high school diploma to any person 
requesting a diploma if such person: (1) Is at 
least 17 years of age; (2) is enrolled or resides 
in such school district; (3) is or has been a child 
in the custody of the commissioner at any time 
on or after such person’s 14th birthday; and (4) 
has achieved at least the minimum high school 
graduation requirements adopted by the state 
board of education. 

 
 

Who are the Secretary and the Commissioner? 

 The Kansas Secretary of the Department of 
Social and Rehabilitative Services (SRS) and 
the Kansas Commissioner of the Juvenile 
Justice Authority (JJA) 
 
 

What does it mean to be “in the custody” of the 
Secretary or Commissioner? 

 Custody is a legal status created by a court 
order or statute. The court order or statute gives 
the Secretary or Commissioner the right to 
physical possession of the child and the right to 
determine placement of the child subject to any 
restrictions placed by the court. 
 
 

How will the district know that the student has 
been “in the custody” of the Secretary or 
Commissioner? 

 The student is responsible for showing 
documentation that he/she has been “in the 
custody” of the Secretary or Commissioner. The 
student can access his/her court documents at 
the district court where his/her hearing was 
held.  

 
 

When is a district required to issue a diploma 
based on the minimum high school graduation 
requirements? 

 When a student meeting the requirements of 
the law requests such a diploma. 
 
 

Should a district allow students to participate in 
graduation activities? 

 Districts are highly encouraged to allow 
students to participate in all graduation 
activities. 
 
 

What type of diploma should the district award 
the student? 

 The student should be awarded a regular high 
school diploma from the district.  
 
 

What are the minimum high school graduation 
requirements in Kansas? 

 Four units of English language arts, which shall 
include reading, writing, literature, 
communication, and grammar. 

 Three units of history and government, which 
shall include world history; United States 
history; United States government, including the 
Constitution of the United States; concepts of 
economics and geography 

 Three units of science, which shall include 
physical, biological, and earth and space 
science concepts and which shall include at 
least one unit as a laboratory course 

 Three units of mathematics, including algebraic 
and geometric concepts 

 One unit of physical education, which shall 
include health and which may include safety, 
first aid, or physiology 

 One unit of fine arts, which may include art, 
music, dance, theatre, forensics, and other 
similar studies selected by a local board of 
education 

 Six units of elective courses 
 
 

Who is the contact if there are questions? 

 Jessica Noble, 785-296-3163,jnoble@ksde.org  
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