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Kansas school bus drivers must be thoroughly familiar with and observe a multitude of laws, 
rules, and regulations, as well as “best-practice” procedures  to safely transport students. The 
written general knowledge test is designed to challenge the driver’s knowledge on these laws, 
rules, regulations and procedures. 

Study Material Compiled by Kansas State Department of Education 
School Transportation Safety Unit  

Keith Dreiling, State Director  
Dennis Tate, Assistant State Director  
Melissa Ostermeyer, Training Coordinator  
Sarah Harter, Senior Administrative Assistant  

ACTIVITY BUS: An activity bus which is NOT yellow, equipped with 8-way lights and stop arm, 
cannot be used to transport students from home to school or school to home.  

ACTIVITY TRIP: Prior to each activity trip in an activity bus or school bus, the driver shall provide 
a brief explanation concerning emergency evacuation procedures and location of emergency 
exits for the bus being used. Be sure to include service door operation. 
KAR 91-38-9 

ACTIVITY TRIP PARKING: Kansas law 
prohibits a school bus or activity from 
blocking or parking in handicapped 
parking stalls to load or unload students 
as shown in the picture to the right. 
School buses may park in a designated 
handicapped parking area if the bus has 
a handicapped placard affixed to the 
bus and is actually loading or unloading 
a handicapped student.  
KSA 8-1,129 

AGE: Each driver of an activity bus shall be 21 years of age or older. Route drivers shall be at least 
18 years of age. 
KAR 91-38-7, KSA 8-238, 49 CFR 383.25 

ALCOHOL IN CDL HOLDER’S SYSTEM: Kansas law prohibits a driver from driving, operating or 
being in physical control of a commercial motor vehicle while having ANY alcohol in such driver’s 
system. 
KSA 8-2,136 
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AMBER 8-WAY LIGHTS: School Bus Drivers shall activate amber 8-way lights at least 200 feet, but 
not more than 1,000 feet, before every stop prior to activating the red 8-way lights and stop arm. 
KSA 8-1730 
 
BACKING A SCHOOL BUS: Backing a school bus is strongly discouraged. You should back your 
bus only when you have no other safe way to move the vehicle. You should never back a school 
bus when students (or adults) are outside of the bus. Backing is dangerous and increases your 
risk of a collision. If you have no choice and you must back your bus, follow these procedures: 

1. Post a lookout. The purpose of the lookout is to warn you about obstacles, approaching 
persons, and other vehicles. The lookout should not give directions on how to back the 
bus. 

2. Signal for quiet on the bus. 
3. Constantly check all mirrors and rear windows. 
4. Back slowly and smoothly. 
If no lookout is available: 
1.   Set the parking brake. 
2.  Turn off the motor and take the keys with you. 
3.  Walk to the rear of the bus to determine whether the way is clear. 

 
If you must back-up at a student pick-up point, be sure to pick up students before backing and 
watch for late comers at all times. Be sure that all students are in the bus before backing. 
If you must back-up at a student drop-off point, be sure to unload students after backing. 
CDL Manual 10.7.3 
 
BIKE & BUS LANES: A Bike Lane is defined 
as a portion of the roadway that has been 
designated by striping, signage, and 
pavement markings for the preferential or 
exclusive use of bicyclists. Bike lanes 
typically run in the same direction of traffic.  
 
Bus lanes is a traffic lane on a surface street 
reserved for the exclusive use of public 
transit buses and are typically marked by 
red paint and signage. 
Manual of Uniform Traffic Control Devices 
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CBD PRODUCTS: It is illegal for any school bus driver to use marijuana regardless of state laws 
which permit recreational use or legal prescriptions.  The labeling of many CBD (Cannabidiol) 
products may be misleading because the products could contain higher levels of THC 
(tetrahydrocannabinol) than what the product label states. The Food and Drug Administration 
(FDA) does not currently certify the levels of THC in CBD products, so there is no Federal oversight 
to ensure that the labels are accurate. The FDA has cautioned the public that: “Consumers should 
beware purchasing and using any [CBD] products.” The FDA has stated: “It is currently illegal to 
market CBD by adding it to a food or labeling it as a dietary supplement.” Also, the FDA has issued 
several warning letters to companies because their products contained more CBD than indicated 
on the product label.  
 
CDL drug and alcohol testing does not authorize the use of Schedule 1 drugs, including 
marijuana, for any reason. Furthermore, CBD use is not a legitimate medical explanation for a 
laboratory-confirmed marijuana positive result. Therefore, CDL drug and alcohol testing officials 
will verify a drug test as positive, even if an employee claims they only used a CBD product. 
DOT Office of Drug and Alcohol Policy and Compliance 
 
CDL (COMMERCIAL DRIVERS LICENSE)/DRIVERS LICENSE:  A CDL (Commercial Driver’s License) 
class A or B license is required for all vehicles with a gross weight over 26,001 pounds and/or 
rated to transport 16 or more passengers. A CDL class A, B, or C license is required for vehicles 
with a gross weight rating of less than 26,000 pounds and/or rated for passenger capacity of 16 
or more. All CDL’s must have a “P” passenger and “S” school bus endorsement. Drivers of school 
passenger vehicles and buses rated less than 26,000 pounds, or for fewer than 16 passengers 
must maintain an appropriate non-commercial driver’s license. 
K.A.R. 91-38-6 
 
CDL/DRIVERS LICENSE CARRY ON PERSON & SHOW UPON DEMAND: Kansas law requires every 
driver to have their CDL/ driver's license in their immediate possession at all times when 
operating a motor vehicle. Kansas law requires every driver operating a motor vehicle to 
promptly deliver such person's driver's license upon demand of any officer of a court of 
competent jurisdiction, any peace officer or any examiner or officer of the division of vehicles 
when the license is in such person's immediate possession at the time of the demand. 
KSA 8-244 
 
CDL HOLDERS AND DIVERSIONS: Kansas law prohibits CDL holders entering into any type of 
court diversion for traffic offenses which would prevent the offense from showing up on a driving 
record. 
KSA 8-2,150 

CLP (COMMERCIAL LEARNERS PERMIT): Federal law prohibits individuals with a CLP from 
training with students on board the bus or transporting students in a bus until they have their 
CDL. 
49 CFR 383.25 
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COLLISIONS WITH ANIMALS: There may be times when an animal suddenly runs in front of your 
vehicle. Do not swerve into oncoming traffic or off the roadway to avoid hitting the animal. Big 
game animals, mostly deer, are large enough to cause damage to a motor vehicle. The size of the 
animal may cause you to take drastic action to prevent a collision. This may result in a more 
serious crash than if the vehicle collided with an animal. Regretfully, the safest alternative may be 
hitting the animal. Concentrate on regaining control of the vehicle before, during, and after the 
collision with the animal. 
KS Driving Handbook 
 
COMPARTMENTALIZATION: The reason school buses are not required seatbelts, is due to the 
seats on a school bus being placed a specific distance apart and having high padded backs.  In a 
collision the student would be propelled forward a very short distance into the padded seatback. 
In addition, students sit high off the ground which adds to the safety as the impact location with 
smaller vehicles would occur beneath the seats. 
KSDE School Bus Safety Unit 
 
CONSTRUCTION SPEED ZONES: Kansas law requires you to obey construction speed zones even 
when workers are not present. 
KSA 8-1559 
 
COVID 19 INFORMATION: The KSDE School Bus Safety has a webpage dedicated to COVID 19 
information as it applies to school transportation. 
KSDE School Bus Safety Unit 
 
CRIMINAL & DRIVING RECORD: A driver is disqualified from transporting students who discloses 
or whose driving record indicates that, within the past 10 years, the person has been convicted of 
any of the following major traffic violations: Hit-and-run driving; driving while under the influence 
of alcohol or drugs; vehicular homicide; reckless driving; or any offense for which the driver’s 
license was suspended or revoked pursuant to KSA 8-254 and 8-255, and amendments thereto. 
An individual who has been convicted of any crime involving a child is permanently disqualified 
from transporting students. 
KAR 91-38-6 
 
DANGER ZONES 
The danger zone is the area on all sides of the bus where children are in the most danger of being 
hit, either by another vehicle or their own bus. The danger zones may extend as much as 30 feet 
from the front bumper with the first 10 feet being the most dangerous, 10 feet from the left and 
right sides of the bus and 10 feet behind 
the rear bumper of the school bus. In 
addition, the area to the left of the bus is 
always considered dangerous because of 
passing cars. School bus drivers should 
be aware of the danger zones when 
loading and unloading the school bus.  
 
CDL Manual 10.1 
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DIMMING HEADLIGHTS: A driver is required to dim their headlights when approaching an 
oncoming vehicle from the front within 500 feet and 300 feet when approaching a vehicle from 
the rear. 
KSA 8-1725 
 
DIVERGING DIAMOND INTERCHANGE: 
Allows two directions of traffic to 
temporarily cross to the left side of the 
road. It moves high volumes of traffic 
through an intersection without 
increasing the number of lanes and 
traffic signals. This movement provides 
easier access to an interstate. When 
driving through a diverging diamond 
interchange, motorists proceed through 
a traffic signal at the entrance to the 
interchange and simply follow their lane 
to the opposite side of the roadway. 
Motorists accessing the interstate have 
two options: 

 

 Before they cross to the other side at the traffic signal, drivers may go right to reach the 
on-ramp.  

 After they have crossed to the other side, drivers may simply turn left, without having to 
stop or wait for any oncoming traffic, to reach the on-ramp to go in the other direction. 
Motorists going straight through the intersection proceed through a second traffic signal 
and follow their lane back to the right side of the road.  

Pavement markings and signals direct motorists to where they need to go. 
KSDE School Bus Safety Unit 
 
 
 
DIVIDED HIGHWAYS & CONTROLLED ACCESS HIGHWAYS: Kansas law prohibits a driver from 
driving a vehicle over, upon or across any intervening space, physical barrier or a clearly indicated 
dividing section so constructed as to impede vehicular traffic between the roadways. Kansas law 
prohibits making a left turn or "U" turn over, across or within any intervening space, physical 
barrier or a clearly indicated dividing section unless the opening provided is surfaced for the 
purpose of public use for such turning movement and is not posted with a sign prohibiting such 
turn. 
KSA 8-1524 
 
DOORS: Every Activity Bus, School Bus and School Passenger Vehicle Driver shall ensure that all 
doors are closed before the vehicle is put into motion and remain closed while the vehicle is 
moving. 
KAR 91-38-7 
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DRIVER TRAINING REQUIREMENTS: Drivers shall comply with the following requirements: 

 Every driver of an activity bus or school bus shall be provided a minimum of 12 hours 
training in a school bus. Six hours of the training must be completed before the driver is 
allowed to transport students; however, the second six-hour block may be completed 
while transporting students, so long as the appointed driver-trainer accompanies the 
trainee on the bus route or activity trip. Note: A CLP (Commercial Learners Permit) holders 
are prohibited from operating a school bus with students under Federal Law 49 CFR 
383.25 

 Every Activity Bus, School Bus and Primarily Hired School Passenger Vehicle Driver shall 
attend 10 safety meetings or the proportional number of meeting for the amount of time 
employed during the school year. 

 Every Activity Bus, School Bus and Primarily Hired School Passenger Vehicle driver shall 
complete an approved first aid and CPR course within 30 days after the first day the driver 
transports students, and certification shall be kept current. Drivers who are currently 
certified emergency medical service providers are not required provided their EMS 
certification remains current. Courses must be instructor lead. Approved courses are 
Medic First Aid, American Red Cross, American Heart Association, and National Safety 
Council (NSC) First Aid.  
NO ONLINE COURSES ACCEPTED! 

 Every Activity Bus, School Bus and Primarily Hired School Passenger Vehicle shall 
successfully complete a vehicle accident prevention course approved by the state 
department of education, within 30 days after the first day the driver transports students 
and maintain certification by completion of an accident prevention course at least every 
three years. This course must be scheduled for 8 hours and instructor lead. Approved 
courses are American Auto Association (AAA), National Safety Council, Smith System, AARP 
Driver Safety Program, 3-D Hartford, Coaching Systems.  
NO ONLINE COURSES ACCEPTED! 

KAR 91-38-6 
 
DROWSY DRIVING: Drowsy driving is estimated to contribute to as many as 1.2 million collisions, 
resulting in potentially 5,000 to 8,000 fatalities per year.  But despite these risks, experts agree 
that drowsy driving is far too prevalent. 
Warning Signs: 

 Can't keep your eyes open or focused 
 You can't keep your head up  
 Daydreaming or wandering thoughts 
 Drifting from your lane or off the road 
 Unintentionally tailgating vehicles 
 Yawning frequently or rubbing your eyes repeatedly 
 Missing signs or driving past your intended turn or exit 
 Feeling irritable or restless 
 Being unable to recall how far you've gone, or places you've passed 

Kansas Traffic Safety Resource Office 
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DRUG & ALCOHOL TESTING: Every driver who is required a CDL (Commercial Driver’s License) to 
transport students is subject to the FMCSA (Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration) Drug 
and Alcohol Testing. Testing includes: 
 

 Pre-Employment Testing 
 Random Testing 
 Post-Accident/Crash Testing 
 Reasonable Suspicion Testing 
 Return To Duty Testing 
 Follow Up Testing 

49 CFR 382 
 
EVACUATIONS: As a general rule, student safety and control is best maintained by keeping 
students on the bus during an emergency and/or impending crisis situation, if so doing does not 
expose them to unnecessary risk or injury. Remember, the decision to evacuate the bus must be 
a timely one. A decision to evacuate should include consideration of the following conditions:  
 

 Is there a fire or danger of fire?  
 Is there a smell of raw or leaking fuel? 
 Is there a chance the bus could be hit by other vehicles?  
 Is the bus in the path of a sighted tornado or rising waters? 
 Are there downed power lines?  
 Would removing students expose them to speeding traffic, severe weather, or a 

dangerous environment such as downed power lines?  
 Would moving students complicate injuries such as neck and back injuries and fractures? 
 Is there a hazardous spill involved? Sometimes, it may be safer to remain on the bus and 

not come in contact with the material. 
 
Mandatory Evacuations. The driver must evacuate the bus when: 

 The bus is on fire or there is a threat of a fire. 
 The bus is stalled on or adjacent to a railroad-highway crossing. 
 The position of the bus may change and increase the danger. 
 There is an imminent danger of collision. 
 There is a need to quickly evacuate because of a hazardous materials spill 

CDL Manual 10.3.1 
 
Note: Students need to be familiar with service door operation in the event the driver becomes 
incapacitated. 
 
EAR BUDS: At present time there is not any law or regulation which prohibits wearing ear buds 
while driving a bus. This would be addressed by District/Company policy. Wearing ear buds is 
strongly discouraged for safety purposes. 
 
EXPERIENCE: Every driver who operates an activity bus, school bus or school passenger vehicle to 
transport students shall have at least one years’ experience in operating a motor vehicle. 
KAR 91-38-6 
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FUEL: If an activity bus, school bus or school passenger vehicle is refueled during any trip when 
passengers are being transported, the driver shall unload all passengers from the vehicle and 
turn off the vehicle’s motor before beginning refueling procedures. Fuel shall not be transported 
in any manner, except in the vehicle’s fuel tank. 
KAR 91-38-7 
 
 
FMCSA DRUG & ALCOHOL CLEARING HOUSE CONSENT: Every CDL holder is required to give 
written consent to their employer for annual drug and alcohol LIMITED query. Any CDL holder 
who has started employment or changed employment after January 6, 2020 is required to 
register in the FMCSA Drug and Alcohol Clearinghouse and provide digital consent to their 
employer for a FULL drug and alcohol query.  
49 CFR 382 
 
FOLLOWING TOO CLOSELY: Kansas law requires drivers to follow other vehicles at a reasonable 
and prudent distance, taking into consideration the speed of the vehicles and condition of the 
roadway. 
 
Four of every 10 crashes involve rear-end collisions, usually because someone is following too 
closely (tailgating). Leave enough room between your vehicle and the one ahead so you can stop 
safely if the other vehicle stops suddenly. 
 
Brake early and gently when preparing to stop or turn. It gives drivers behind you plenty of 
warning that you are slowing down. Be aware of space on either side of you, too, in case you have 
to change lanes quickly or pull over to avoid a hazard. If possible, leave yourself some escape 
room to your left and right. 
 
If You're Being Tailgated 
If the driver behind you is tailgating, move to another lane if possible, or if necessary, slow down 
and pull off the road to let the driver go by you. Be sure to signal when you drive off the road and 
when you return to it. Do not press your brakes to warn the offending driver, this could make a 
difficult situation become more dangerous. 
Kansas Highway Patrol 
 
HEADLIGHTS ARE REQUIRED TO BE ON: 

 Sunset to Sunrise 
 When windshield wipers are on due to rain, sleet or snow 
 When visibility is less than 1000 feet 

Note: Driving lights are not headlights 
KSA 8-1703 
 
HOURS: Every Activity Bus, School Bus and Primarily Hired School Passenger Vehicle Driver shall 
not drive a school vehicle for more than 10 consecutive hours or for more than a total of 10 hours 
in any 15-hour period. 
KAR 91-38-7 
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HUMAN TRAFFICKING: Is the exploitation of human beings, through force, fraud or coercion, for 
the purposes of commercial sex or forced labor, wherein a third party is making a profit. School 
bus drivers should watch for kids with:  

 Unexplained absences 
 Bruises/physical trauma 
 Tattoos displaying the name or moniker of a trafficker 
 Change in attire, behavior, relationships or material possessions 
 Signs of drug addiction or malnourishment 

Busing On The Lookout – Truckers Against Trafficking 
 
KEYS:  If an Activity Bus, School Bus or School Passenger Vehicle leaves the driver’s seat, the 
parking brake shall be set, the motor turned off, and the keys removed. However, drivers of 
specially equipped buses may leave the motor running to operate a power lift after setting the 
parking brake. 
KAR 91-38-7 
 
LINGERING LAW: It is illegal to linger and drive in the passing lane outside of a city limits if you 
are not passing another vehicle. 
KSA 8-1522 
 
 
 
LOADING & UNLOADING – BLOCKING ROAD 
We understand the driver’s intention in this 
situation, however its violation of Kansas law to 
pull the bus left of center and block the 
roadway.  
KSA 8-1514 
 

 
 

LOADING & UNLOADING ON SHOULDER 
The school bus is designed to stop traffic with 
the 8-ways lights and stop arm. Kansas law 
prohibits stopping on the shoulder to load and 
unload with hazard lights. 
 
When buses stop on the shoulder it creates a 
situation where some motorists may stop and 
some may not which endangers the students 
you are loading or unloading. 
 
KAR 91-38-8    KSA 8-1459 

 
 
Note:  It is recommend to train students to stay 
back and not approach the bus until signaled 
by the driver it is safe to do so.                

KSPTA Study Guide - General Knowledge Test Page 10 of 28 Revised December 2024



MIRRORS 
 
Per FMVSS (Federal Motor Vehicle Safety 
Standards), school bus mirrors should be 
adjusted to comply and meet the requirements 
found in FMVSS 111 

 
 
MEDICAL SELF-CERTIFICATION: If a school bus driver works and drives only for the school 
district, we recommend they be a category #2 on their medical self-certification. Category #2 
drivers DO NOT send a copy of their medical examiners certificate to the state. Category #2 is an 
interstate classification which means the driver can legally drive a school bus out of state. Drivers 
can change their medical self-certification category at any time if they were to get a job where a 
category #1 was required. 
 
It is important for CDL holders to understand & know their medical self-certification category and 
check your status on-line at least annually. CDL holders can check their status and medical self-
certification category for free on-line using the Kansas Department of Revenue’s Kansas Driver's 
License Status Check. Category #2 drivers DO NOT send proof of their DOT physical into the DMV. 
 
Drivers who drive a school bus owned by a school bus contractor and the bus displays a US DOT 
number normally select Category #1 on their medical self-certification. Category #1 drivers are 
required to send their DOT physicals into the DMV.  
KSDE School Bus Safety Unit 
 
MODIFICATIONS: Kansas law prohibits modifications to the school bus unless done and 
approved by the manufacturer. This includes but not limited to: mechanics installing LED light 
bars, mounted hand sanitizers, drilling holes in seat frames to install seatbelts, moving seats, 
installing protective barriers such as curtains or plexiglass shields.   
KAR 91-38-4 
 
MOVE-OVER LAW: Kansas law requires drivers approaching a stationary emergency vehicle 
displaying flashing lights, including towing and recovery vehicles, traveling in the same direction, 
to vacate the lane closest if safe and possible to do so, or slow to a speed safe for road, weather, 
and traffic conditions. 
KSA 8-1530, KSA 8-1531 
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OBJECT MARKERS FOR OBSTRUCTIONS ADJACENT TO THE ROADWAY: These signs 
are used to mark obstructions not actually within the roadway but close to the edge 
of the road and require a marker. These include underpass piers, bridge abutments, 
handrails, ends of traffic barriers, utility poles, and culvert headwalls. In other cases 
there might not be a physical object involved, but other roadside conditions exist, 
such as narrow shoulders, drop-offs, gores, small islands, and abrupt changes in the 
roadway alignment, that might make it undesirable for a road user to leave the roadway. Markers 
with stripes that begin at the upper right side and slope downward to the lower left side are 
designated as right object markers. Object markers with stripes that begin at the upper left side 
and slope downward to the lower right side are designated as left object markers. 
Manual on Uniform Traffic Control Devices 
 
OBSTRUCTIONS: Each Activity Bus and School Bus Driver shall ensure that openings for the 
service door, emergency exits, and aisles are kept clear of any obstructions (coolers, book bags, 
band instruments, school projects, sports equipment, etc.) at all times. 
K.A.R. 91-38-7 
 
OVER-THE-COUNTER DRUGS: Over-the-counter drugs taken for headaches, colds, hay fever or 
other allergies or those to calm nerves can make you drowsy and affect your driving. Pep pills, 
“uppers” and diet pills can make you feel nervous, dizzy, unable to concentrate, and they can 
affect your vision. Check the label on the product before you take an over-the-counter drug for 
warnings about its effect. If you are not sure if it is safe to take the drug and drive, ask your 
doctor or pharmacist about any side effects. 
KS Driving Handbook 
 
PASSING BICYCLES: A driver of a vehicle must allow 3 feet between their vehicle and the bicycle 
when passing a bicycle traveling in the same direction. 
KSA 8-1516 
 
PASSING NEAR STOPPED EMERGENCY VEHICLE OR CONSTRUCTION VEHICLE: A driver of a 
vehicle shall not overtake and pass another when approaching within 100 feet of a stationary 
authorized emergency vehicle or construction vehicle on a highway that consists of two lanes 
carrying traffic in opposite directions, when the vehicles are displaying flashing lights. 
KSA 8-1520a 
 
PEDESTRIAN RIGHT OF WAY: You must yield to pedestrians at all times. Even if they are not in a 
crosswalk and crossing the street where they should not be (also known as jaywalking), you must 
stop for them. 
Kansas Driving Handbook 
 
PHYSICAL EXAMINATIONS: Every Activity Bus, School Bus and Primarily Hired School Passenger 
Vehicle Driver is required to comply with physical qualification requirements of 49 C.F.R., Part 
391.41 (most commonly known as a “DOT physical”). 
K.A.R. 91-38-6 
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PLACEMENT OF TRIANGLES ON DIVIDED HIGHWAY: A driver of an activity or school bus whose 
bus becomes disabled for more than 10 minutes on a divided highway shall place triangles as 
indicated in the diagram. 
 

 
KSA 8-1745 
 
PLACEMENT OF TRIANGLES ON TWO LANE ROADWAY: A driver of an activity or school bus 
whose bus becomes disabled for more than 10 minutes on a two lane roadway shall place 
triangles as indicated in the diagram. 

 
KSA 8-1745 
 
POST-ACCIDENT ALCOHOL TESTING: Drivers with a CDL may be required alcohol and or drug 
testing after an accident/crash in certain circumstances. 
49 CFR 383.303 
 
POST-TRIP INSPECTION: Following the completion of any trip, Every Activity Bus, School Bus and 
School Passenger Vehicle Driver shall perform a walk-through inspection of the school bus or 
activity bus, or a visual check of the school passenger vehicle, that the provider was driving, to 
ensure that all passengers have disembarked. 
KAR 91-38-7 
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POST-TRIP INSPECTION RECOMMENDED PROCEDURES: Procedures for shutting down your bus 
at the end of the route or trip are simple. The few steps you need to take are vital to you, the 
driver, and to the students you are responsible for and who have been placed in your care. The 
steps are as follows: 

 Secure the bus – Place the transmission in neutral and set the parking brake. 
 Check all gauges before turning off ignition and removing the key  
 Idling should be kept at a minimum to conserve fuel and for environmental and health 

reasons. 
 Walk the bus – Walk to the back of the bus to check for sleeping students by looking on 

and under all seats. Leaving a student on the bus at the end of your route or trip is 
inexcusable. Your bus may be equipped with a child check system, follow instructions for 
that system. 

 It is YOUR RESPONSIBILITY to see that no student is left on the bus. Failure to thoroughly 
check the bus can result in the termination of your employment. 

 Check for items that have been left, trash on the floor, close windows and roof hatches  
 Check for any damage to the seats. 
 Sweep the bus daily 
 Check under the bus for leaks. 
 Check under the hood for leaks and signs of wear. 
 Check tires and wheels. 
 Check under-carriage, muffler, tail pipe and etc. 
 Open the rear emergency door and take a quick look again for anything that might be left 

on the floor of the bus. 
 Clean mirrors, lights, driver’s window, door, front & rear windows. 
 Complete forms due and update routes. 
 Record any mechanical or functional trouble and/or damage to the bus that may have 

occurred since the initial daily report. If immediate attention is needed, notify the proper 
person. 

 Fuel the bus if it reads half a tank or less. Never fill fuel tank with passengers on board. 
(Optional if you are the child’s parent) Check the transmission fluid while the engine is hot 
and running (this is normally done after morning route.) 
 
 

 
PRESCRIPTION DRUGS: Some prescription drugs can impact your driving and can affect your 
reflexes, judgment, vision, and alertness in ways similar to alcohol. Prescription drugs, such as, 
antidepressants, pain reducers, sleep aids and sedatives will have an impact on driving safely. 
Check the label on the prescription and packaging before you take a drug for warnings about its 
effects. If you are not sure if it is safe to take the drug and drive, ask your doctor or pharmacist 
about any side effects. 
KS Driving Handbook 
 
PRE-TRIP INSPECTION: Every Activity Bus, School Bus and School Passenger Vehicle Driver shall 
complete a pre-trip inspection before each trip and be documented prior to transporting 
students.  
KAR 91-38-7 
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PRE-TRIP INSPECTION RECOMMENDED PROCEDURES: Start your pre-trip as you approach the 
bus by looking at the general condition of the bus. Look underneath the bus for leaks and loose 
or hanging debris (use a flashlight when it is dark). Do not start the bus if you see oil or radiator 
fluid on the ground. 
 
There are different methods that can be used for pre-tripping a bus. Use the method that works 
for you, as long as you check all the required items. Remember a systematic pre-trip with the 
fewest trips outside the bus will more likely be followed correctly. The following is an example of 
one such method: 
 
ENGINE COMPARTMENT 

 Check under vehicle for fluid levels/leaks, loose lines, items etc. 
 Check Coolant, Oil, Power Steering Fluid, Windshield Washer Fluid battery, belts, hoses, 

loose caps, and look for fluid leaks. 
 Any loose items, visible cracked/worn electrical wiring, belts or hoses 
 Check condition alternator, Water pump 
 Check air compressor for signs of leaks, wear or damage. 
 Check Steering Box/Hoses 
 Check that the steering box is securely mounted and not leaking. 
 Look for any missing nuts/bolts, /cotter keys. 
 Check for power steering fluid leaks or damage to power steering hoses. 
 Steering Linkage, See that connecting links, arms, and rods from the steering box to the 

wheel are not worn or cracked. · Check that joints and sockets are not worn or loose and 
that there are no missing nuts, bolts, or cotter keys. 

 Slack Adjustors · Look for broken, loose, or missing parts. · The angle between the push 
rod and adjustor arm should be a little over 90 degrees when the brakes are released and 
not less than 90 degrees when the brakes are applied. 

 Brake Chambers · See that brake chambers are not leaking, cracked, or dented and are 
mounted securely. 

 Brake Hoses/Lines · Look for cracked, worn, or leaking hoses, lines, and couplings. 
 Drum Brake · Check for cracks, dents, or holes. Also, check for loose or missing bolts. · 

Brake linings (where visible) should not be worn dangerously thin. 
 Lower and secure hood 

 
INTERIOR OF THE BUS 
Enter vehicle checking the condition of the steps. This area is your welcome mat to the public and 
must be kept clear of dirt, paper, snow and ice. The handrail must be tight and secure Verify that 
parking brake is set. Upon entering, carefully inspect the following equipment:  
 

 Fire extinguisher, 
 Reflectorized Warning Triangles 
 First aid kit contents complete and properly secured  
 Body fluid kit, sealed and secured 
 Seatbelt/Web Cutter 
 Check adjustment and condition of the driver seat, seat belt 
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PRE-TRIP INSPECTION RECOMMENDED PROCEDURES continued 
 

 Check for the insurance card, emergency forms  
 Check Pre-trip inspection Book for any defects noted previously, have they been repaired 

and the mechanic signed off on the form 
 Radio Check to confirm radio is operational 
 Check the trash container located at the top of the steps. At no time may a trash container 

block an entrance or exit 
 Wheels chocked as needed 
 Close the service door as you sit in the driver's seat. Check for smooth and easy operation 

of the service door 
 Check your overhead mirror, sun visor, and exterior mirrors for their condition and that 

they are properly adjusted. 
 Check the accelerator pedal for damage and give the pedal one quick hard pump to check 

that the pedal returns and that the linkage and cable are not bound on anything. 
 If the bus is equipped with hydraulic brakes, check the hydraulic brake backup & power 

assist by pressing on the brake pedal until you hear the motor noise. This is done with the 
key and engine off.  

 Check the neutral safety switch by placing the gearshift lever in any gear other than 
neutral and try to start the bus (make sure the parking brake is engaged). The bus must 
ONLY start in neutral/park. 

 
STARTING THE BUS: 
The procedure for starting a school bus varies from bus to bus. The glow plug (if equipped with 
one) on the dash on a diesel bus will go out when the engine is ready to be started. Start bus with 
parking brake set transmission in neutral/park turn key on. Do not leave the bus running 
unattended at any time. Warm up the engine at a fast idle, but do not race the engine. Much 
engine wear occurs in the first three- (3) minutes after starting. 
 

 Start the bus, checking all instruments and gauges located on the dash, Use left to right 
system, order may vary, taking care that all of the operational gauges are in the normal 
range (oil, battery, temperature, fuel, ammeter, vacuum or air pressure gauge, and 
odometer). Listen for any unusual noises. 

 Check the hydraulic brakes for damage and leaks by pumping the pedal three times and 
applying firm pressure to the pedal for five seconds. Air brakes are addressed later in this 
section. 

 Check the parking brake by placing the transmission in drive (with the parking brake 
engaged) then slightly press on the accelerator pedal. The bus should not move forward. 
You can also check the parking brake by allowing the bus to move forward slowly then 
applying the parking brake Make sure the brake warning buzzer or light is operational. 

 Check the steering wheel for any damage or cracks. The steering wheel should turn freely 
without excessive play (no more than 10 degrees or 2 inches in a 20" wheel).  

 Tap the horn. 
 Check all of the interior lights, defroster fans, heater motors, windshield wipers and 

windshield fluid. 
 Drivers window opens, closes, locks with ease 
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PRE-TRIP INSPECTION RECOMMENDED PROCEDURES continued 
 

 Left windshield clean, not cracked, state safety inspection sticker. 
 No stickers blocking view of mirrors. 
 Windshield washer, both sides working. 
 Wipers look at each blade left /right, , not split, cracked, check each speed. 
 Check all mirrors - clean, properly adjusted to see blind areas. 
 Right windshield, clean, not cracked, no stickers blocking view of mirrors 
 Front door clean, no cracked windows, adjusted, works with ease, pad over door 
 Front Door Emergency release 
 Auxiliary fans adjusted, fan guards secure 
 Turn on the amber lamps of the 8-way system, looking in the crossover mirrors to see if 

they are working. If you cannot see the amber lights in your crossover mirrors, you can ask 
another person outside to check them for you. Sometimes the lights can be seen if you 
place your head next to the inside of the windshield. (kiss the windshield) 

 Leave the amber lamps of the 8-way system on, turn on Headlights, clearance lamps, 
hazard lights, strobe light and the interior lights. 

 Get out of the seat and move towards the rear of the bus. 
 On your way to the back of the bus “bump” all the seat backs. Check the seats for any 

damage and that they are all securely fastened down. Check the windows, and that the 
roof hatch(s) are secure. Check the emergency doors, windows and roof hatches to make 
sure that they are not locked, that they open and close freely, that they have no 
obstructions, and that the warning buzzers work. 

 Check the strobe light while you have the emergency roof hatch open, it may be easier to 
see the light flashing from there. 

 When you reach the back, open the rear emergency door fully, lean out and check the 
amber lights of the 8-way system, hazard lights, taillights and brake lights. (Note: on some 
buses the backup lights come on when the rear emergency exit door is opened, if not you 
will need to use a buddy system to check the backup lights. DO NOT put the bus in reverse 
and go check the backup lights). Check that the door opens and closes freely, no 
obstructions, and that the warning buzzer works. 

 Close and secure the door. (Some buses have lock bolts on the emergency door. If they 
are not unlatched, the bus will not start.) Do NOT operate a bus with any emergency exit 
door locked. Emergency exits shall not be blocked. 

 On your return trip to the front of the bus, slap the seat backs, check the seats for any 
damage and that they are all securely fastened down Check the aisle floor mats for any 
damage or rips. 

 Check interior cleanliness  
 Return to the driver's seat: 
 Left turn signal ( turn off hazard lights) 
 Open the door to activate the red lights of the 8-way system.  
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PRE-TRIP INSPECTION RECOMMENDED PROCEDURES continued 
 
EXTERIOR OF THE BUS 
 

 As you exit the bus, check the right mirror. At the right front wheel and tire, look for the 
following: 

 Tire condition: even wear of tread, no cracks, splits, bulges or cords showing, properly 
inflated, no recaps; 

 Tread depth: at least 4/32" when measured at any major tread groove; 
 Rims: no cracks, splits or dents, or welds, no evidence of brake seal leaks; 
 Valve stems: no evidence of damage or leaks; 
 Lug nuts: tight, no rust or dust present around wheel bolts, axle hub bolts in place and 

secure, no grease leaking from the hub 
 Brakes: visually inspect for leaks or other damage. 
 Move to the front of the bus working from top of the bus down (stand about 10ft back) 

and check: 
 The 2-way radio antenna: not bent or broken 
 Clearance lights: lens covers intact, no damage and working; 
 Red flashing lights (8-way), lens covers intact, no damage and working; 
 Windshield, wipers and arms: not broken or damaged; 
 Side mirrors: properly adjusted, no breaks or damage; 
 Left Turn signal lights: lens intact, no damage and working 
 Crossover mirrors: properly adjusted, no breaks or damage 
 Headlights: lens covers intact, no damage, and working 
 Overall condition of the bus: no body damage that is detrimental to the safe operation of 

the bus, to include excessive rust 
 Crossing arm: not loose or hanging, and working properly if equipped  
 Look underneath the bus again (engine running this time) and check: 
 Brake hoses: secure, not bound on anything, worn, cracked or leaking 
 Shock absorbers: secure, not loose, broken, hanging, or leaking fluid 
 Fluids: no anti-freeze, engine oil, or transmission leaking from under the front of the bus. 
 Move to the driver's side of the bus, check the side mirrors and check the left front wheel 

and tire for the following: 
 Tire condition: even wear of tread, no cracks, splits, bulges or cords showing, properly 

inflated, no recaps 
 Tread depth: at least 4/32" when measured at any major tread groove 
 Rims: no cracks, splits or dents, or welds, no evidence of brake seal leaks 
 Valve stems: no evidence of damage or leaks 
 Lug nuts: tight, no rust or dust present around wheel bolts, axle hub bolts in place and 

secure, no grease leaking from the hub 
 Brakes: visually inspect for leaks or other damage 
 If the batteries are not under the hood, check the battery door compartment to make sure 

that it is securely latched 
 Move to the middle of the bus and working from the top of the bus down, check: 
 Side clearance and marker lights: lens intact, no damage and working 
 Windows: intact, not cracked or broken 
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PRE-TRIP INSPECTION RECOMMENDED PROCEDURES continued 
 

 Stop arm: not damaged or bound on anything, lens intact, no damage and lights operating 
properly 

 Side Turn signal: lens intact, no damage and working 
 Side reflectors: no damage, not broken or missing  
 Overall condition of the bus: no body damage detrimental to the operation of the school 

bus 
 Open and look in the under bus storage area if equipped 
 Look under the bus: no exhaust leaks, or hanging debris 
 Side emergency door (if equipped): is not locked, fully opens freely, no obstructions, 

latches properly, buzzer is working 
 All leaf springs: in place, not cracked, broken, or shifted 
 U-bolts, spring hangers, and other axle positioning parts: secure, not damaged, cracked, or 

missing 
 Move to the rear wheels, and check both tires for: 
 Tread depth: at least 2/32" when measured at any major tread groove 
 Tires: need to be the same type and size 
 Recaps: should be secure, no chunks missing 
 For the rest of the wheels inspection, refer to front wheel segment Go to the rear of the 

bus and working from the top of the bus down, check: 
 Clearance lights 
 Red flashing (8-way) lights 
 Windows 
 Left Turn signal lights: lens intact, no damage and working 
 Taillights 
 Reflectors 
 General body condition 
 Look under the bus, scan the suspension, and exhaust system. Push the exhaust/tailpipe 

with your foot for tightness of hangers. Never grab exhaust/tailpipe with hand as pipe 
could be very hot 

 Check all clamps and hangers: they should be tight and secure, without apparent leaks, 
and not rubbing against anything 

 Check the differential, shocks, and brakes for leaks At the rear of the bus check that: 
 Emergency door: is not locked, fully opens freely, no obstructions, latches properly, and 

buzzer is working 
 All light lens covers: intact, not damaged 
 All reflectors: in place, not damaged 
 Proceed to the passenger side of the bus stopping at the rear wheels and tires to check: 
 Tread depth: at least 2/32" when measured at any major tread groove 
 Tires: need to be the same type and size 
 Recaps: should be secure, no chunks missing 
 For the rest of the wheel inspection, refer to front wheel segment Move away from the 

side of the bus and check: 
 Clearance lights: lens covers intact, not broken or damaged, and working 
 Windows: intact, not cracked or broken 
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PRE-TRIP INSPECTION RECOMMENDED PROCEDURES continued 
 

 Turn signal: lens cover intact, not broken or damaged, and working 
 Reflectors: in place, not cracked or damaged 
 Open and look in the under bus storage area if equipped 
 Fuel door and fuel cap: intact, not broken or damaged and secure 
 General overall condition of the bus: no body damage detrimental to the operation of the 

bus 
 Re-Enter Vehicle 
 Move back to the service door and as you reenter the bus check that the stair light is 

intact, not cracked or damaged and working 
 Deactivate the 8-way system, cancel the left turn signal then turn on right turn signal and 

switch headlights to high beams 
 Exit Vehicle Second Time 
 Check  Hi-beam Headlights 
 Right turn signals, front, back and both sides as equipped 
 If the bus is equipped with a lift, check the: operation of the special service door; and the 

operation of the lift and any special equipment 
 Fill out and sign the pre-trip form, leaving it in the designated spot. 
 If repairs are needed, follow your district/contractor's policy on repairs and take a 

replacement bus if necessary. 
 
AIR BRAKES 
If your school bus is equipped with air brakes, you will need to perform the following tests. 
(Follow the Kansas CDL manual procedures) 
 

1. Air Gauge and Governor Cutoff Check – Chock the wheels, if necessary, start the vehicle 
and inspect that the air gauge is working and builds the air pressure to governor cutoff 
(approximately 120 – 140 psi) and identify the cutoff pressure for your vehicle. 

 
2. Air Leakage Rate Test – Shut off the engine, return the key to the “on”, “Acc”, or “battery 

charge” position, release the parking brake Fully apply the foot brake. Once the air gauge 
is stabilized, hold the foot brake for one (1) minute. Inspect the air gauge to see if the air 
pressure drops more than three (3) pounds in one (1) minute  

3. Air Warning Device(s) Test – Without re-starting the engine, ensure the key or electrical 
power is in the “on”, “ACC”, or “battery charge” position. Begin fanning off the air pressure 
by applying and releasing the foot brake. The low air warning devices (buzzer, light) should 
activate before air pressure drops below 55 psi or level specified by the manufacturer. It is 
the applicant’s responsibility to know the vehicle manufacturer’s specifications. 

4. Emergency Brake(s) Test – Continue to fan off the air pressure. The parking brake (or 
emergency brake) valve should close (pop out) between 20 psi and 45 psi (no less than 20 
psi and no more than 45 psi). You will need to identify the level specified by the 
manufacturer for the vehicle you are testing in.  
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PROOF OF DOT PHYSICAL: All Activity/School bus drivers are required a DOT physical with no 
exceptions. School bus drivers are NOT required to carry proof of their DOT physical on their 
person. The employer/school district is required to have proof of a DOT physical for every bus 
driver they employ.  
KAR 91-38-6 
 
RAILROAD CROSSINGS: Activity Bus and School Bus Drivers shall stop the bus at every railroad 
crossing within 50 feet but not less than 15 feet from the nearest rail and while stopped shall 
listen and look in both directions along such track for any approaching train, and for signals 
indicating the approach of a train, and shall not proceed until such driver can do so safely. 
Exception would include: the crossing is controlled by a police officer or flagman, controlled by a 
traffic signal, crossing which is marked by a sign as being abandoned or exempt. 
KSA 8-1553 
 
REMOVAL OF VEHICLES FROM ROADWAY WHEN INVOLVED IN ACCIDENT: Except in the case of 
an accident involving death or apparent injury of any person, or the transportation of hazardous 
material, the owner or driver of a vehicle which obstructs the regular flow of traffic on any 
interstate highway, U.S. highway, or any multilane or divided roadway, shall make every 
reasonable effort to move the vehicle from the roadway, if, moving the vehicle may be done 
safely, does not require towing and may be operated under its own power without further 
damage to the vehicle or the roadway and without endangering other vehicles or persons upon 
the roadway. 
KSA 8-15,507 
 
REMOVING A STUDENT FROM THE BUS: Never put a student off the bus except at school or at 
his or her designated school bus stop. If you feel that the offense is serious enough that you 
cannot safely drive the bus, call for a school administrator or the police to come and remove the 
student. 
CDL Manual 10.5.2 
 
REPORTING ACCIDENTS/COLLISIONS: A driver is required to report any accident/collision 
resulting in any injury or $1000 worth of property damage to law enforcement. 
KSA 8-1602 
 
RURAL ROAD DRIVING: Driving on empty rural highways can be just as dangerous as driving in 
heavy city traffic. It is easy to relax your attention and suddenly come upon something 
dangerous. Stay alert, watch for warning signs and slow down. Some road conditions and driving 
hazards are unique to rural roads when compared to a paved interstate or city street. Rural roads 
consist of paved, gravel and dirt roads. It is important to understand the different types and the 
hazards that are common on rural roads. 
KS Driving Handbook 
 
SAFETY EQUIPMENT REQUIRED IN ACTIVITY AND SCHOOL BUSES: All activity and school buses 
shall be equipped with a first-aid kit, body fluid clean-up kit, fire extinguisher, 3 reflectorized 
triangles and a seat belt cutter. 
KAR 91-38-2 
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SAFETY HAZARDS: Every Activity Bus, School Bus and School Passenger Vehicle Driver shall 
report to the transportation supervisor any condition encountered by the driver on a 
transportation route that appears to pose a safety hazard. 
KAR 91-38-3 
 
SCHOOL BUS COLOR: It is illegal under Kansas law to use an activity bus not painted school bus 
yellow, equipped with 8-way lights and stop arm to transport students home after and activity trip 
or to pick up students at their home on the way to an activity trip. 
72-64,100    
 
SCHOOL BUS FACTS 

 
NHTSA (National Highway Traffic Safety Administration) 
 
SCHOOL VEHICLE MARKINGS: Kansas law requires all motor vehicles owned or leased by any 
school district to bear the name of the district, owning or leasing such vehicle plainly printed on 
both sides regardless of whether the vehicle is being used for student transportation. 
KSA 8-305 
 
SEAT BELTS: Every driver shall utilize the driver’s safety belt at all times while the Activity Bus, 
School Bus or School Passenger Vehicle is in motion. 
KAR 91-38-7 
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SERVICE DOOR OPERATION: It is highly recommended bus drivers include instruction on service 
door operation during evacuation drills and activity trip safety briefings. 
KSDE School Bus Safety Unit 
 
SIGNALING TURN: Kansas law requires a driver to signal a turn no less than 100 feet before 
turning. 
KSA 8-1548 
 
SIGNS: 
 

 
Lane Ends 

 
Narrow Bridge 
or Underpass 

 
Pedestrian 
Crossing 

 
Divided Highway 

Begins 

 
Merging Traffic 

     

 
NO Left Turn 

 
Stop Sign Ahead 

 
Added Lane 

 
Left Curve 

 
Low Clearance 

     

 
Traffic Signal 

Ahead 

 
School Crossing 

 
T-Intersection 

Ahead 

 
Slippery When Wet 

 
Sharp Curve 

Ahead 

     

 
Flagger Ahead 

 
Divided 

Highway Ends 

 
Workers Ahead 

 
Uneven Grade 

Crossing 

 
Bicycle Crossing 
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SIGNS: 
 

    

 
Shared Center Lane 
Left Turn Only 

Left Turn Yield 
On Green 

Slower Traffic 
Keep right 

 
Divided Highway 

 
Railroad Advance 

Warning 
     

 
Roundabout 

Ahead 
Roundabout 
Regulatory 

Roundabout 
Regulatory 

State Highway 
 

US Highway 

     
SIGN COLORS:     
     

 
Green: 
Guide, Directional Information 

  

 
Red: 
Stop, Yield, Do Not Enter, Wrong 
Way 

  

 
Blue: 
Motorist Services Guidance, Parking Spaces for Disabilities 

 White: 
Regulatory 

  

 
Orange: 
Construction, Maintenance 
Warning 

  

 
Brown: 
Public Recreation Areas and Scenic Guidance 

 

 
Yellow: 
General Warning 

  

 
Black: 
Regulatory 
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SIGN COLORS: 

 
Fluorescent Green: 
Pedestrian Warning, Bicycle Warning, Playground Warning,  
School Bus and School Warning 

 
Pink: 
Incident Management 

  

   

 
SIGN SHAPES: 
 

  

 Octagon: 
Used exlusively for Stop Signs 

  

 Horizontal Rectangle: 
Guide Signs 
 

  

 Triangle: 
Used exclusively for Yield Signs 

  

 Pennant: 
Advance warning of No Passing Zones 

 

 Vertical Rectangle: 
Regulatory Signs 

  

          

Pentagon: 
School Advance and School Crossing Signs 

 

 Round: 
Railroad Advance Warning Signs 

  

 Diamond: 
Warning Signs 
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STUDENT SEATING: Kansas law prohibits students from sitting in the 
aisles while being transported. In addition to being illegal it is also 
unsafe due to compartmentalization, which will not work if the student 
is not sitting completely on a seat with their feet facing forward.  
Note: The picture to the right shows a violation of Kansas law and an 
unsafe practice of a student (wearing a numbered jersey) sitting on the 
floor of the school bus. 
K.A.R. 91-38-7 
 

SUBSTITUTE DRIVERS: Every Activity Bus, School Bus and Primarily Hired School Passenger 
Vehicle Driver shall complete the same training requirements as regular drivers. 
KAR 91-38-6 
 
TAIL SWING: A school bus can have up to a three-foot tail swing. You need to check your mirrors 
before and during any turning movements to monitor the tail swing. 
CDL Manual 10.7.4 
 
TEXTING: Kansas law which prohibits texting while driving applies to school buses and activity 
buses.  
KSA 8-15,111 
 
TRAILERS: A driver of a school bus or activity bus shall not tow any trailer or other vehicle with 
the bus, while any passenger is on the bus.  
KAR 91-38-7 
 
VANS: The use of 12 and 15 passenger rated 
vans for student transportation is illegal. 
Kansas and Federal law both prohibit the 
use of any passenger vehicle, for student 
transportation, which is rated for more than 
10 passengers plus the driver by the 
manufacturer. Tire and Load sticker with the 
10 passenger rating. Every van shall have a 
legible tire and load sticker with a rated 
capacity on the inside driver’s door pillar. 
 
It is illegal to remove seats from a 12 or 15 
passenger rated van to meet the mandated passenger requirement for student transportation. 
This would apply to both a school and/or a dealership if the intention is to circumvent the 
mandated passenger rating for school transportation. 
KSA 72-64,100, FMVSS 110 
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WINDSHIELD/WINDOW & OTHER DECORATIONS: A driver shall not drive any vehicle with any 
sign, poster or other nontransparent material (i.e. window chalk, shoe polish) upon the 
windshield, side windows or rear windows which substantially obstructs, obscures or impairs the 
driver's clear view of the highway or any intersecting highway. A school bus shall NOT display any 
holiday lighting or other decorations while transporting students. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

KSA 8-1741, KAR 91-38-4  
 
THIS IS A VAN THESE ARE BUSES 

 
A van will have a 
sliding or cargo style 
door or additional 
passenger 
entry. 12 & 15 
Passenger Rated Vans 

are illegal for student transportation 
KSA 72-64,100 

A bus will have a service door and a 
stepwell for passenger entry 
 
Buses are rated for more than 10 
passengers in addition to the driver 

 
VIOLATIONS OF SCHOOL BUS STOP ARMS EXAMPLES 
 
TWO-LANE ROADWAY 
When a school bus tops and activates its 
stop arm and flashing red lights, all 
traffic must stop from both directions. 
 

KSA 8-1556 
 
 
 
 
 
 

FOUR-LANE ROADWAY 
WITH SHARED LEFT TURN LANE 
When a school bus tops and activates its stop arm and 
flashing red lights, all traffic must stop from both 
directions.

 
KSA 8-1556 
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VIOLATIONS OF SCHOOL BUS STOP ARMS EXAMPLES 
 
TWO-LANE ROADWAY WITH  
SHARED LEFT TURN LANE 
When a school bus tops and activates its 
stop arm and flashing red lights, all 
traffic must stop from both directions 

KSA 8-1556 
 
FOUR-LANE ROADWAY 
When a school bus tops and activates its 
stop arm and flashing red lights, all 
traffic must stop from both directions. 

KSA 8-1556 

DIVIDED HIGHWAY WITH  
MEDIAN SEPARATION 
When a school bus stops and activates its stop arm 
and flashing red lights, traffic approaching the bus 
from behind must stop. 

 
KSA 8-1556 
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