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 As Kansas schools get back in session, it is critical for drivers to be vigilant when school buses 

are in the vicinity.  
 

 It only takes a second for tragedy to occur. 
 

 Obey the stop arm signals and know the law.  
 
BACKGROUND 

 Kansas Highway Patrol requested that Kansas State Department of Education (KSDE) conduct 

a school bus safety awareness project. 

 Fifty-seven Kansas school districts volunteered to participate in a 30-day (school days) survey 

to measure the number of motorists illegally passing school buses.  

 Data was self-reported by district school bus drivers from January 23, 2017, through March 3, 

2017.  

 Information collected included the type of roadway the bus was travelling on at the time of the 

incident (city, country or highway); the time of day (morning, noon or afternoon); direction (front 

or rear of bus); and side of the bus (left or right.) 

 

REPORTING VARIANCES 

 Not all volunteer districts participated for the full 30 school days. 

 Some participating districts have four-day school weeks. 

 Some participating districts did not have their entire bus fleet report. 

 The counts were impacted by spring break, President’s Day and parent-teacher 

conferences.  

 

KANSAS LAW 

 The driver of a vehicle meeting or overtaking any stopped school bus from either direction 

must stop before reaching the bus when the flashing red lights are in operation. 

 The driving can’t proceed until the school bus resumes motion and the flashing red lights and 

the stop arm signal are no longer active.  

 School bus drivers activate the warning lights (amber lights) prior to activating the red flashing 

lights and stop arm, which allows other drivers time to slow down and stop.  



30-Day Stop Arm Violation Survey 
Talking Points 
8.14.17 

 

KANSAS STATE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION 
900 SW Jackson Topeka, KS 66612 

Denise Kahler, Director of Communications 
785.296.4876 

 

SURVEY RESULTS 

 Total number of violations reported by 57 Kansas school districts during the 30-day time period: 

9,967. 

 Violation locations -  city: 9,941; highway: 322; county: 154 

 Time of violation – morning: 4,076; noon: 678; afternoon: 5,213 

 Violation direction – rear of bus: 2718; front of bus: 7,249 

 Violation side of bus – right: 222; left: 9,745 

 Wichita USD 259 reported the greatest number of violations during the 30-day period: 6,888 

(6,866 city violations; 21 county violations; 1 highway violation) 

 

 

 

 

  

 

 


