# KANSAS STATE DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION





All homeschools are classified as Non-Accredited Private Schools in Kansas and must follow the regulations set forth by law.

Kansas does not specifically authorize "home instruction" or "homeschooling" by state statute. However, Kansas does recognize Non-Accredited Private Schools. There is no fee charged to register a non-accredited private school.

A non-accredited elementary or secondary private school is one that satisfies the state's compulsory school attendance laws, but which is not accredited by the State Board of Education.

Compulsory school attendance laws apply to children who have reached the age of 7 and those who are under 18 years of age (may be under 7 for children identified as handicapped). Every parent or guardian of children in that age group must require such children to attend a public, private, denominational, or parochial school for the duration of the school term.

### **Registration Requirement**

Non-accredited private schools are required by law to register the name and address of the private elementary or secondary school (homeschool) with the State Board of Education. Registration consists of completing a form provided by the state showing the name and address of the school and the name and address of the official custodian of the school's records.

Registering a school does not mean the school has been "approved" by the State Board of Education.

### **Teacher Requirements**

Non-accredited private schools are not required to employ teachers who are licensed by the state, but their courses must be taught by competent instructors.

### Hours of Instruction

Classes must be held for a period of time which is substantially equivalent to the time public schools are in session. The time required for public schools is at least 186 days of not less than 6 hours per day, or 1116 hours per year for grades 1-11.

### **Curriculum and Books**

Non-accredited private schools are responsible for acquiring their own books and curriculum materials. Books may be purchased from private organizations, checked out through the public library, or rented from the public school with district approval. The public school is under no obligation to make books and materials available to students attending other schools.

No books, curriculum materials, guidelines, or technical assistance on curriculum development are available from the State Department of Education for non-accredited private schools.



## FACT SHEET

### **Homeschooling In Kansas**

NON-ACCREDITED PRIVATE SCHOOLS

### Credits

When a student transfers to a non-accredited private school, the school previously attended must be notified by the parent/guardian that the student is changing schools. If a student simply stops coming to school, the school is required by law to report the student as truant.

It is in the best interest of students attending non-accredited private schools that accurate and complete records of their progress be kept. These records will be needed if the student transfers to a public or an accredited school, or applies for admission to a college or university.

If a student transfers from a non-accredited private school to an accredited school, the accredited school is not required to accept the transfer of credit. The accredited school may find it necessary to test the student in order to make a decision regarding the transfer of credit.

Kansas Graduation Requirements-minimum for Accredited Public and Accredited Private Schools and recommended for non-accredited schools:

- 4 units of English Language Arts
- 3 units of History and Government
- 3 units of Science
- 3 units of Mathematics
- 1 unit of Physical Education
- 1 unit of Fine Arts
- 6 units of Electives

#### Diplomas

Private schools, including non-accredited schools issue their own high school diplomas. These diplomas are not recognized by the State of Kansas as meeting any requirements. The State does not issue diplomas.

### **Entering College**

Colleges and universities determine their own criteria for admission of students who graduate from a non-accredited private school.

Most institutions of higher education will require a Graduate Equivalency Diploma (GED) or other criteria to be met for admission.

For more information, contact:

Homeschool questions (785) 368-7088 homeschool@ksde.gov



Kansas State Department of Education 900 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 102 Topeka, Kansas 66612-1212

(785) 296-3201

www.ksde.gov

Non-Accredited Private Schools (Home Schooling) Website: https://www.ksde.gov/Default.aspx?tabid=416

The Kansas State Department of Education does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability or age in its programs and activities and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. The following person has been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies: KSDE General Counsel, Office of General Counsel, KSDE, Landon State Office Building, 900 S.W. Jackson, Suite 102, Topeka, KS 66612, (785) 296-3201. Revised 3/11/2025