

Dropout Fact Sheet

What does it mean to be a dropout?

- Kansas state statute (K.S.A. 72-1111) requires that a child who has reached the age of seven years and is under the age of 18 years be enrolled in and attend school continuously each year.
- Any student who leaves school and does not enroll in another school or program that culminates in a high school diploma is considered to be a dropout.

What does K.S.A. 72-1111 say about compulsory attendance for a child 16 or 17 years of age?

- K.S.A. 72-1111 states that if a child is 16 or 17 years of age, the child shall be exempt from the compulsory attendance requirements of this section if:
 - 1) the child is regularly enrolled in a program recognized by the local board of education as an approved alternative educational program, or
 - 2) the child and the parent or person acting as parent attend a final counseling session conducted by the school during which a disclaimer to encourage the child to remain in school or to pursue educational alternatives is presented to and signed by the child and the parent or person acting as parent. The disclaimer shall include information regarding the academic skills that the child has not yet achieved, the difference in future earning power between a high school graduate and a high school dropout, and a listing of educational alternatives that are available for the child.

Where can I find information for the compulsory attendance disclaimer?

- Information and sample compulsory school attendance disclaimer forms are available on the <u>Graduation and Dropout</u> webpage.
- A list of educational alternatives is available on the https://www.ksde.org/Agency/Division-of-Learning-Services/CSAS-Home/Graduation-Assessment-Services/CSAS-Home/Graduation-and-Schools-of-Choice webpage.

How is the annual dropout rate calculated?

- The dropout rate is calculated annually and reflects the number of seventh

 – twelfth grade students who drop out in any one school year.
- For the purposes of the dropout rate calculation, a dropout is any student who exits school between October 1 and September 30 with a dropout EXIT code <u>AND</u> does not reenroll in school by September 30.
- It is important to note that the annual dropout rate is not the inverse of the graduation rate because the dropout rate is calculated using one year of data while the graduation rate is calculated using four years of data.

Which EXIT codes (in the D27 field of the Kansas Individual Data on Students system) count as dropouts?

- EXIT code 14= discontinued schooling
- EXIT code 16= moved within US, not known to be continuing
- EXIT code 17= unknown
- EXIT code 19= transfer to GED completion program
- EXIT code 20= Transferred to a juvenile or adult correctional facility where diploma completion services are not provided.
- Unresolved exits in grades 7-12 are counted as dropouts in the dropout rate calculation.

How is dropout data reviewed?

- Schools and districts review and sign off on the data through the "Dropout Graduation Summary Report" (opens October).
- Dropout data is not part of Annual Measurable Objectives (AMO), but the data is publicly reported on the building report card (https://ksreportcard.ksde.org/default.aspx.) and the K-12 reports https://datacentral.ksde.org/report_gen.aspx.

Who is the contact if there are questions?

- Information will be posted on the <u>Graduation</u> and <u>Dropout</u> webpage.
- Julie Ewing, 785-296-2325, jewing@ksde.org
- Dr. Robyn Kelso, 785-296-3444, rkelso@ksde.org



Dropout Fact Sheet