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Introduction:  Kansas’ school funding formula is the Kansas School Equity and Enhancement Act. This 

Enrollment Handbook summarizes changes for the 2020-21 school year. Substantive changes are 

shown in blue.  

 

Enrollment 
 

A school district’s General Fund Budget is determined by taking the total adjusted weighted enrollment 

of the district, times the base aid for student excellence (BASE). For 2020, the BASE is $4,569. Student 

enrollment counts will be collected on September 21, 2020.  

 
The 2020 Count Date will be Monday, September 21st 

If the 20th is not a school day, such as a weekend or an in-service day, the count day moves to the first school 

day following the 20th. Count Day for the 2020-21 school year is Monday, September 21.  

 

The purpose of audits performed by the Kansas State Department of Education (KSDE) is to verify the 

total adjusted weighted enrollment reported by each of Kansas’ 286 Unified School Districts (USDs).  

 

Adjusted weighted enrollment is calculated by: 

1. Taking the district’s adjusted full-time equivalency (FTE) enrollment, AND  

2.    Adding preschool-aged at-risk (4-year-old at-risk) students, career technical education weighting 

(CTE), bilingual program weighting (ESOL), at-risk student weighting, high density at-risk 

weighting, new facilities weighting, transportation weighting, virtual state aid, special education 

weighting, low or high enrollment, Kansas Academy of Math and Science (KAMS), and if 

applicable, ancillary school facilities weighting and/or cost of living weighting.  

 

Districts report student-related information using the Kansas Individual Data on Students 

(KIDS) system. This data is collected at various dates throughout the school year. To be 

counted for enrollment funding by a district a student MUST be included in the KIDS ENRL 

data provided to KSDE. All Principal’s Building Reports (PBR) and Superintendent’s Organization reports 

(SO66) will be populated from the data provided to the state on ENRL records through KIDS.   

 

 

Adjusted Full Time Equivalency Enrollment 

 

How adjusted full-time equivalent enrollment will be calculated for 2020-21:  

 

If no military enrollment, then the greater of the following:  

1. The September 20, 2019 audited full time equivalent (FTE) number of students regularly enrolled 

(not including preschool-aged at-risk (4-year-old at-risk) and virtual), or 

 

2. The September 20, 2018 audited FTE number of students regularly enrolled (not including 

preschool-aged at-risk (4-year-old at-risk) and virtual) 
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If military enrollment, then the greater of the following:  

1. The September 20, 2019 audited full time equivalent (FTE) number of students regularly enrolled 

plus the February 20, 2020 estimated FTE (not including preschool-aged at-risk (4-year-old at-

risk) and virtual), or 

2. The September 20, 2018 audited FTE number of students regularly enrolled plus the February 

20, 2016 estimated (not including preschool-aged at-risk (4-year-old at-risk) and virtual) 

3. The average number of FTE students regularly enrolled in the district for three years; 2017-18, 

2018-19, 2019-20 (not including preschool-aged at-risk (4-year-old at-risk) and virtual) 

 

Virtual School students are not included when determining adjusted enrollment. 

 

Once the highest number is determined, total adjusted enrollment (excluding weightings) is that number 

plus:  

Current year (2020-21) preschool-aged at-risk (4-year-old at-risk), including September 21, 2020 

and February 22, 2021. 

 

Note: To be regularly enrolled, according to an Attorney General Opinion number 70-72-12 dated April 

10, 1970, a student must be “both enrolled on paper and present in body.” Therefore, KSDE uses the 

term, “enrolled and attending” as the criteria for determining school enrollment. Due to normal 

absences that might occur for individual students, the following policy is used to determine the eligibility 

of students to be counted in the regular enrollment of a school district. 

 

 

Enrolled and Attending 

 

To count a student for funding purposes, the student must be ENROLLED and ATTENDING on Count 

Day of the current school year. 

 

THREE EXCEPTIONS TO THE RULE: 

 

1. If a student is absent on September 21: The student can still be counted if the student is enrolled on 

September 21, and attends at least once prior to September 21 AND once after September 21, but it 

must be before October 4.  Note: the correction to before October 4th (rather than “on or before”). 

 

2. No school on September 20: If school is not in session, for example, because of parent-teacher 

conferences on September 20 or the day falls on a weekend, students are counted on the first school 

day following September 20. (For 2020-21, Count Day is Monday, September 21st, 2020.) 

 

3. Virtual Schools/Programs and Alternative Schools: A two-day attendance rule and special 

documentation are required for students that are attending virtual schools/programs or alternative 

schools. Special guidelines must be followed to claim these students in your enrollment for funding. 

Alternative school attendance guidelines can be found on page 12. Virtual school/program students 

are not included in the regular enrollment of a district (for funding purposes). However, separate 

funding for virtual students is available (Virtual State Aid), see page 16 for attendance guidelines. 
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Auditors review enrollment data submitted via ENRL records from KIDS and also review daily attendance 

records provided by the school. These records may include, but are not limited to: 

 

• Attendance Records (electronic or otherwise) 

• Teacher Grade Books 

• Special Education Service Logs 

• Sign in/Sign out Sheets 

• Virtual Activity Logs 

• Remote Learners - documentation of at least one meaningful Daily Connection with a local licensed 

educator – 2020-21 

 

 

Minutes Enrolled 

 

 

FTE Calculations are based on KIDS data element D25 - Minutes Enrolled.  

 

Schools are to report the number of minutes the student attends on a daily basis.  

 

Students attending a virtual school or program, or attending an alternative school or program have 

special requirements which are covered in their own sections of this handbook. For 2020-21, Remote 

Learning students are also covered in their own section of this handbook. See page 26. 

 

Count as minutes enrolled: 

▪ Time spent in class 

▪ Passing periods, not to exceed 10 minutes, between classes 

▪ Mid-morning and/or mid-afternoon recess, up to 15 minutes each 

▪ Pre-school only, meal and snack time when with/accompanied by a licensed educator 

 

Do not count as minutes enrolled: 

▪ Lunchtime and one passing period either before OR after lunch 

▪ Recess that is immediately preceding or following lunch 

▪ Breaks (a passing period in excess of 10 minutes is considered a break) 

 

 

THREE BASIC TYPES OF SCHOOL SCHEDULES: 

 

1. Same schedule every day 

2. Block Schedule (Blue Day/White Day) 

3. Modified Block (Use the calendar week that includes the count day.) 
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Table 1  

Bell Schedule - Same Schedule Every Day* 

 Start End 

Minutes 

counted 

Minutes not 

counted 

Period 1 8:00 8:52 52  

Passing 8:52 8:57 5  

Period 2 8:57 9:49 52  

Passing 9:49 9:54 5  

Period 3 9:54 10:45 51  

Passing 10:45 10:50 5  

Lunch 10:50 11:20  30 

Passing 11:20 11:25  5 

Period 4 11:25 12:16 51  

Passing 12:16 12:21 5  

Period 5 12:21 1:13 52  

Passing 1:13 1:18 5  

Period 6 1:18 2:10 52  

Passing 2:10 2:15 5  

Period 7 2:15 3:05 50  

Total minutes    390  

 

*Use calendar week that includes the count day. 

 

 

Table 2 

Bell Schedule – Block Schedule (8 Periods)* 

  

Start 

 

End 

Minutes 

counted 

Minutes not 

counted 

Period 1 & 2 8:00 9:30 90  

Passing 9:30 9:35 5  

Period 3 & 4 9:35 11:05 90  

Passing 11:05 11:10 5  

Lunch 11:10 11:40  30 

Passing 11:40 11:45  5 

Period 5 & 6 11:45 1:15 90  

Passing 1:15 1:20 5  

Period 7 & 8 1:20 2:50 90  

Total minutes   375  

 

Blue day 

Periods 1, 

3, 5, 7 

   

 

White day 

Periods 2, 

4, 6, 8 

   

 

*Use calendar week that includes the count day. 
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Table 3 

Modified Block (7 Periods & Seminar)* 

Period Mon Tue Wed Thur Fri 

1 50 50 90  50 

Pass 5 5 5  5 

2 50 50  90 50 

Pass 5 5  5 5 

3 50 50 90  50 

Pass 5 5 5  5 

4 50 50  90 50 

Pass 5 5  5 5 

Lunch      

Pass      

5 50 50 90  50 

Pass 5 5 5  5 

6 50 50  90 50 

Pass 5 5  5 5 

7 50 50 90 Sem 50 

Min/day 380 380 375 375 380 

Min/week     1890 

Daily Avg.     378 

 

*Use calendar week that includes the count day. 

Part Time Students 

 

Count minutes in each class plus passing period, if passing from class to class. All calculations are 

rounded to whole minutes. 

 

Note: For students receiving educational services away from the main campus of the funding school 

(such as at a private school) no recess or passing period minutes are countable. 

 

Sample calculations are shown below, using the schedules provided on pages 8-9. 

 

SAME SCHEDULE EVERY DAY 

 

❖ Example 1, student enrolled and attending periods 1,2 & 3 

➢ Period 1 begins at 8:00, period 3 ends at 10:45 

➢ All minutes count, 52 + 5 + 52 + 5 + 51 = 165 

➢ Or 8:00 – 10:45 =  2:45 = 165 minutes. 

 

❖ Example 2, student attends only period 1 & 3. 

➢ Period 1 = 52 

➢ Period 3 = 51 

➢ Passing periods not counted, not passing from period to period 

➢ 52 + 51 = 103 
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❖ Example 3, student attending periods 1-5 only. 

➢ 8:00 to 1:13 = 5:13 = 313  

➢ Less lunch and passing period from lunch 30 + 5 = 35 

➢ 313 – 35 = 278 

 

BLOCK SCHEDULE - Report average minutes per day 

 

❖ Example, student attends periods 1-5 

➢ Blue Day 8:00 – 1:15 = 315 less 35 minutes lunch and passing = 280 

➢ White Day 8:00 – 11:05 = 185 

➢ 280 + 185 = 465 / 2 = 232.5 = 233 

 

MODIFIED BLOCK - Report average minutes per period 

 

❖ Example, student attends periods 1, 2, & 3 only 

➢ Average each period, 50 + 50 + 90 + 50 = 240 / 5 = 48 

➢ Average passing period, 5 + 5 + 5 + 5 = 20 / 5 = 4 

➢ 3 periods + 2 passing, 48 + 4 + 48 + 4 + 48 = 152 

 

FTE Calculations 

 

FTE is calculated by taking each student’s minutes enrolled and dividing by 360, rounded to one decimal 

place, with a maximum FTE of 1.0. Example: Minutes Enrolled = 278, 278 / 360 = .772 = .8 FTE. 

 

FTE Calculation - Exceptions 

 

Many exceptions exist where the FTE calculation shown directly above is not used, including: 

 

1. Preschool three and four year olds with an IEP are automatically .5 FTE. 

2. Preschool three and four year olds without an IEP are submitted but not funded. 

3. Preschool-aged at-risk (4-year-old at-risk) are automatically .5 FTE. 

4. Preschool five year olds with an IEP are automatically 1.0 FTE. 

5. Preschool five year olds without an IEP should be enrolled as Kindergartners for funding purposes.  

Note: KSDE encourages districts to enroll a student in kindergarden if age-eligible (five years old on 

or before August 31). However, such a student may be placed in a preschool setting and still be 

enrolled as a Kindergartner for funding purposes.  

6. Kindergarten (for 20-21) will be based on 2019-20 audited enrollment and each student’s FTE will be 

based on minutes enrolled. 

7. Kindergarteners with an IEP are automatically 1.0 FTE. 

8. Grades 1 – 12, with an IEP are automatically 1.0 FTE, except when also enrolled in a virtual school, 

See: “Special Education Students Also Attending Virtual School” on page 19. 

9. For students identified as “concurrently enrolled,” FTE is minutes enrolled divided by 300 (rather 

than 360), rounded to one decimal. See “Concurrent High School Enrollment” on page 21. 

10. Out-of-state students are .75 (rounded as .8) FTE. 
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Note: Students must have 18 minutes in order for the FTE calculation to generate .1 (18 / 360 = .05 = .1) 

Students with 17 minutes or less will not be counted. ( 17 / 360 = .04 = 0.0). This does not apply to 

special education students, unless they are also enrolled in a virtual school. 

 

Part-time Kindergarten and non-public schools 

Sometimes a Kindergarten student enrolled at a private school may receive non-special education 

services from the public school, such as Title I services, and thus is countable by the public school. Any 

Kindergarten student reported in KIDS with an Accountabilty School that is a private school and with less 

than 360 minutes will have FTE calculated on minutes enrolled just as any other part-time student. 

 

Age Requirements 

 

3 year old Preschool (KIDS grade 01) 

• Must be three years old on or before August 31 of the current school year.  

• Student with an IEP will be funded at .5 FTE. 

• Student without IEP is not funded. 

 

4 year old Preschool (KIDS grade 02) 

• Must be four years old on or before August 31 of current school year. 

• Student with IEP will be funded at .5 FTE. 

• Student without IEP is not funded. 

 

5 year old Preschool (KIDS grade 03) 

• Must be five years old on or before August 31 of current school year. 

• Student without an IEP will be funded, but for funding purposes must be enrolled as a 

Kindergartner. Note: KSDE encourages districts to enroll a student in kindergarden if age-eligible 

(five years old on or before August 31). However, such a student may be placed in a preschool 

setting and still be enrolled as a Kindergartner for funding purposes.  

• Student with IEP will be funded at 1.0 FTE. 

 

*New - Preschool-Aged At-Risk (3 year old) (KIDS grade 33) 

• Must be three years old on or before August 31 of current school year.  

• Must meet one qualifying criteria, see pages 25-26. 

• Student with an IEP should be reported as 3 year old Preschool (KIDS grade 01), even if they also 

meet a qualifying criteria. A student who is 3 years old with an IEP is funded at 0.5 FTE.  

• Will not be funded for the 2020-2021 school year. 

Preschool-Aged At-Risk (4 year old) (KIDS grade 04) 

• Must be four years old on or before August 31 of current school year. 

• Must not be five years old on or before August 31 of the current school year. 

• Cannot have IEP, but must meet one qualifying criteria, see pages 25-26.  (Student with an IEP 

should be reported as 4 year old Preschool (KIDS grade 02), even if they also meet Preschool-

Aged At-Risk qualifying criteria. A student who is 4 years old with an IEP is funded at 0.5 FTE.) 

• Funded at .5 FTE.  

 

Kindergarten (KIDS grade 05) 

• Must be five years old on or before August 31 of current school year.1 (See Exceptions to age requirements) 
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• Student with an IEP will be funded at 1.0 FTE.2 

• Student without an IEP will be funded based minutes enrolled, same as all other grades.3 

 

1st Grade (KIDS grade 06) 

• Must be six years old on or before August 31 of current school year.3 

• Student with IEP will be funded at 1.0 FTE. 

• Student without IEP is funded based on minutes enrolled. 

 

Non-graded (Adults) (KIDS grade 18) 

• Cohort class has graduated 

• Does not include 5th year seniors 

 

EXCEPTIONS TO AGE REQUIREMENTS 

 

1. A student who, while a resident of another state, had legally entered and attended Kindergarten in 

said other state, shall be eligible to attend Kindergarten in Kansas, regardless of age.  K.S.A 72-

3118(d). 

2. A student who, while a resident of another state, had legally enrolled and attended in grade one or 

had legally enrolled and completed Kindergarten in that other state shall be eligible to attend grade 

one in Kansas, regardless of age. K.S.A. 72-3118(b). 

3. Private school Kindergarten students who attend a public school for Title I or other incidental 

classes, such as “band” or “PE” are to be claimed as Kindergarten and FTE will be calculated based on 

minutes enrolled.  

 

 

Alternative Schools and Programs 
 

There are two types of “alternative“ schools/programs, one has mandatory attendance, the other does 

not. Regardless, alternative learning services must be provided on-site and by a licensed teacher. 

 

If mandatory attendance is required, enrolled and attending minutes should be computed as in a 

traditional school.  If mandatory attendance is not required, enrolled and attending minutes will be 

computed based on two days as follows: 

 

1. First day counted must be on or before September 20. 

2. Second day counted must be on or after September 21, but before October 4. 

 

Note: If the district’s count day in the traditional school has been moved off of September 20, all 

references to September 20 change to the same day used in the traditional schools of the district and 

references to September 19 change to the day preceding the count day used in the traditional schools. 

 

For 2020-21, once the student has fulfilled the two-day attendance rule above, to compute minutes 

enrolled, find the longest day the student attended (limited to 360 minutes) on any day on or before 

September 20 and the longest day the student attended (limited to 360 minutes) on or after September 

21, but before October 4.  Add the two numbers together and divide by 2, rounded to a whole minute. 
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For example, records for Student A show the following attendance: 

• September 15 - 360 minutes 

• September 20 - 120 minutes 

• September 27 - 216 minutes 

 

The greatest attendance day on or before September 20 is 360, the greatest attendance day on or after 

September 21 is 216. In KIDS, minutes enrolled would be reported as 288. (360 + 216 = 576 / 2 = 288)  

 

There is no requirement by KSDE that a student must attend 360 minutes; part-time attendance is 

allowed. 

 

Districts must provide documentation for the two days the district wishes to count for each student’s 

“Minutes Enrolled,” including the longest day attended on or before September 20 and longest day 

attended on or after September 21, but before October 4. 

 

BREAKS AND LUNCH.  A break, not to exceed 10 minutes, will count as part of the school day. Limit one 

break per three hours of attendance or two per day.  A lunch break should be provided for those 

students attending four hours or more. Lunch break time will not count as part of the school day.  If no 

lunch break is recorded for a student attending five hours or more, 30 minutes will be deducted by 

auditors. 

 

30 HOUR REQUIREMENT. A full time student must have access to 30 hours of school attendance per 

week. Schools with less than 30 hours available will use the total hours divided by 30 to compute 

minutes enrolled. 

 

CHANGING BUILDING SCHEDULE. The count days should be a normal school day, no different than any 

other day of the year. Time attended outside the normal scheduled day will not be used to compute 

“minutes enrolled”. For example, if the building is normally open 9AM to 7PM except for the few days 

around the count day, any time attended by students prior to 9AM or after 7PM will not be included in 

“minutes enrolled”. 

 

TIME ON THE COUNT DATES WILL BE DISALLOWED FOR:  

• Enrollment process 

• Field trips (Time for any activity off school property is considered a field trip) 

• Career days (Military Recruiters, Job Fairs, etc.) 

• Classroom party or drawing for prizes (all students will be disallowed) 

• Lunch provided free of charge by the school, unless available every day 

• Childcare, unless available every day (all students will be disallowed) 

 

Adult Students 

 

For purposes of enrollment funding, “ADULT” is defined as those individuals whose fifth year cohort 

class has graduated high school not including fifth year seniors.  See page 51 for additional explanation. 

 

Only those students without a high school diploma are eligible for funding. A high school diploma from a 

school in another state or country prohibits funding. 
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Required Documentation for Adult Students: 

 

1. District Enrollment form 

A. Full Name 

B. Address 

C. Date of Birth 

D. Cohort class graduation date 

E. Do you have a high school diploma? 

2. Transcript Analysis, used to determine what classes student needs to graduate. 

3. Individual Graduation Plan, outlining the plan for the student to graduate, showing classes needed 

and the estimated enrollment date in those courses. 

4. Enrollment in high school credit earning courses. 

 

GRADUATION PLANS  

 

The Transcript Analysis and Graduation Plan can be on the same document. If the student needs less 

than 25% of credits to graduate, the graduation plan must show estimated enrollment dates for all 

remaining classes. If the student needs more than 25% of credits to graduate, the graduation plan must 

show estimated enrollment dates for at least 25% of the total credits. 

 

For example, if a student enrolls and the transcript analysis shows that the student has 5 credits and the 

school’s graduation requirement is 24 credits, then the graduation plan must show the estimated 

enrollment dates for 6 credits. 

 

Note: Adult students must follow the same “Enrolled and Attending” rules that apply to the type of 

school they are attending. 

 

Transportation 
 

Any student for whom transportation is made available at district expense regardless of distance should 

be counted by the district. Remember: A student riding a special-education-funded bus is reported as 0 

(zero) FTE in KIDS. (Such students should only be claimed on the Special Education Transportation Form 

308.)  

 

KIDS Data Elements - The district is to report at least two items in KIDS:  

 

1. Transportation Miles, KIDS data element D48 – Miles Transported. 

2. Transportation FTE, KIDS data element D49 – Transportation FTE. 

 

Transportation Miles 

Distance traveled from home to school using the most direct travelable route. Distance is measured 

from front door of house to front door of school. Do not round mileages, for example, 2.46 should be 

reported as 2.4. 

 

Note: Document any road closures that are in place on the count day.  



2020-21 Enrollment Handbook  Page 15 

 

 

 

Transportation FTE 

1. A student riding a regular route bus round trip from home to school to home should be 

reported as 1.0 FTE 

2. A student who only rides one way on a regular route bus would be reported as .5 FTE 

3. A student riding a special education funded bus is reported as 0 (zero) FTE. 

4. Private school students who are also counted in the public school enrollment can be counted 

for transportation, but are limited to their enrollment FTE. For example, a Title I student from a 

parochial school that receives 30 minutes of Title I service per day would be included in the 

enrollment count for 0.1 (30 / 360 = .08 = .1), therefore if transportation is provided to this 

student their transportation FTE would be 0.1. 

 

Additional required information 

For any student with reported Transportation Miles of 2.5 or greater, the following items 

should be maintained: 

 

1. Student Address (where student lives, not where picked up) – KIDS data field D50 

Example: 1234 North Main -  

2. Student Address City – D51 

3. Student Address Zip Code – D52 

 

Do NOT report a Post Office Box number as the address; provide the physical address of the home. 

 

If a student attends more than one school during the day, report the mileage to the school that the 

student attends the greatest part of the day. 

 

If a student lives in two places, such as with divorced parents with joint custody, report the address and 

mileage of the home with the greatest mileage. 

 

USD 207  

K.S.A. 72-64,101 allows USD 207 – Fort Leavenworth to transport students in grades 10, 11 and 12 to 

Leavenworth High School in USD 453 – Leavenworth, and to receive funding for those students. The 

students will be enrolled and attending Leavenworth High School and the enrollment and all other 

weightings will go to USD 453. USD 453 will report the students as being transported with a resident 

district of D0207, the SO66 program will move the transportation count to USD 207. 

 

Non-Resident Transportation  

As a general rule, districts are not allowed to cross into another district to pick up students without the 

permission of the resident district.   

 

A special rule exists to allow a school district to cross into another district and pick up a student who 

wishes to attend in their district. It must be 2.5 miles or more from the student’s home to the school 

within the resident district to qualify. Each year, before providing transportation to an out of district 

student, the district must notify the board of education in the resident district. The notification form is 

available on the School Finance/School Bus Safety website: Out-of-District Transportation Notification 

 

https://www.ksde.org/Agency/Fiscal-and-Administrative-Services/School-Finance/School-Bus-Safety/School-Bus-Safety-Forms
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Note: The special rule does not apply to any district with territory in the following counties: Johnson, 

Sedgwick, Shawnee or Wyandotte.  See K.S.A. 72-3124. 

 

Virtual Schools and Programs 

 

Only students attending virtual schools and programs approved by KSDE will be counted. 

 

NOTE: The age-related eligibility date for virtual schools and programs does not change year to year; it is 

always September 20th.   

 

VIRTUAL STUDENTS 19 AND UNDER (AS OF SEPTEMBER 20TH) 

Virtual students must attend at least two days to be included in the district’s virtual enrollment count. 

Students must attend a single day on or before September 20 AND a single day on or after September 

21, but before October 4. Note: the correction to before October 4th (rather than “on or before”). 

 

Note: If the district’s count day in the traditional school has been moved off of September 20, all 

references to September 20 change to the same day used in the traditional schools of the district and 

references to September 19 change to the day preceding the count day used in the traditional schools. 

 

Enrollment forms for students, who are also enrolled in a private school, must have either the signature 

of the parent, OR the signatures of both the private schools principal and school counselor.  

 

Districts must provide documentation to the auditor for the two days the district wishes to count for 

each student’s minutes enrolled, including the longest day attended on or before September 20 and 

longest day attended on or after September 21, but before October 4. Keep in mind that on a given day, 

a student’s minutes may consist of multiple ways of attending.  

 

The student may attend in three ways: 

1. Connected. 

2. Off-line. 

3. On-site. 

 

Connected time should be documented with a print out from the virtual school or program’s computer 

system showing when the student was connected to the virtual curriculum. 

 

Off-line time should be documented with an Academic Activity Log. This log should show the student’s 

name, date of attendance, classes attended, and the amount of time the student was working off-line 

completing course requirements. The logs must be signed by the student, or if the student is less than 

18 years old, the student’s parent or guardian. Activity logs must be signed by the parent or student on 

or before November 1. Off-line time will be disallowed for any student whose activity log is signed after 

November 1.  

 

In addition to the Academic Activity Log, the virtual school or program must provide documentation 

from the computer system that the student was logged into each course listed on the log at least once 

from the beginning of the school year up to and before October 4. 
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On-site time attendance refers to in-person attendance at one or more buildings within the district 

sponsoring the virtual school or program. Time for any activity off school property is considered a field 

trip and will not be counted. On-site attendance at a building within another district requires written 

permission from the superintendent of that other district. 

 

On-site time should be documented with sign-in/sign out sheets showing when the student attended. 

Applicable lunch breaks should be reported on this same sheet. A break, not to exceed 10 minutes, will 

count as part of the school day. Limit one break per three hours of attendance or two per day. A lunch 

break should be provided for those students attending four hours or more. Lunch break time will not 

count as part of the school day.  If no lunch break is recorded for a student attending five hours or 

more, 30 minutes will be deducted by auditors. Lunch break deductions only apply to “On-site” time. 

 

 

Calculating Minutes Enrolled (Virtual Students 19 and Under) 

Once the student has fulfilled the two-day attendance rule above, to compute minutes enrolled, find the 

longest day the student attended (limited to 360 minutes) on any day on or before September 20 and 

the longest day the student attended (limited to 360 minutes) on or after September 21, but before 

October 4. Add the two numbers together and divide by 2, rounded to a whole minute. 

 

Within the same district 

A student, who attends a district’s virtual school or program and also attends at the traditional school, 

will be counted individually by each school. Separate ENRL records must be submitted for the virtual 

minutes and the traditional minutes. 

 

In districts where the virtual school or program is submitted under its own building number or the 

central office building number: 

 

• The traditional school will compute minutes enrolled as they would for any other part-time student; 

and 

 

• The virtual school or central office will compute minutes enrolled as they would for any other virtual 

student; however, they will be limited to the number of minutes remaining after the traditional 

school’s minutes are subtracted from 360. 

 

In districts where the virtual school or program is submitted under the same building number as the 

traditional school: 

 

• If there are NO traditional minutes to account for, the traditional school will compute minutes 

enrolled as they would for any other virtual student in the building 

 

• If there ARE traditional minutes to account for: 

➢ The traditional school will compute minutes enrolled as they would for any other part-time 

student;   

➢ The central office will compute minutes enrolled for this part-time virtual student; however, they 

will be limited to the number of minutes remaining after the traditional school’s minutes are 

subtracted from 360.   
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In two different districts 

In the case of a student who is enrolled and attending a traditional school in one district, and also is 

enrolled and attending a virtual school or program in a second district:  

 

• the traditional school will compute minutes enrolled as they would for any other part-time student;   

 

• the virtual school or program will compute minutes enrolled as they would for any other virtual 

student; however, they will be limited to the number of minutes remaining after the traditional 

school’s minutes are subtracted from 360.   

 

For example, a student attends the traditional school in district 888 for 216 minutes and attends the 

virtual school or program in district 999 for 216 minutes. District 888 can count the student for 216 

minutes, district 999 will be limited to 144 minutes (360 – 216 = 144).  

 

The above statement is true in all cases except when an agreement to some other split of minutes has 

been signed by both districts. Said agreements must be signed by the superintendents of both districts. 

 

VIRTUAL STUDENTS 20 AND OVER AS OF SEPTEMBER 20TH 

Virtual students 20 and over will not be funded on minutes enrolled on the count days and are not 

required to be “enrolled and attending” within the two separate count windows. Rather, any credits 

earned by virtual students 20 and over between July 1 and June 30 will be funded at $709 per credit 

hour. (Also see clarification of virtual fifth year seniors and adults in the Appendix, page 51) 

 

Even though computing minutes enrolled will no longer be required for funding purposes, KSDE will still 

need an ENRL record for headcount purposes. Virtual students 20 and over who are enrolled on or 

before September 20th should have an ENRL submitted with 360 minutes, REGARDLESS of the actual 

number of minutes they attend during that period.  

 

IDENTIFYING VIRTUAL STUDENT IN KIDS  

 

KIDS data element D17 (Virtual Education Student) is used to identify the student as a virtual 

student. It applies to virtual students 19 and under as well as those 20 and over. Possible 

entries into D17 are:  

 

Blank = Student is not a virtual student and has not been during the school year. 

1 = Student is currently a Virtual Student. 

2 = Student is not currently a Virtual student, but has been at some time during the current school year. 

 

For any KIDS ENRL record where D17 is “1,” that student will be counted as a virtual student for funding 

purposes. 

 

NON-RESIDENT VIRTUAL STUDENTS 

Students who are not residents of the State of Kansas are not included in the enrollment count for 

virtual schools or programs. 

 

VIRTUAL SCHOOL/PROGRAM or ON-LINE CLASS or 2020-21 REMOTE LEARNING STUDENT 

An on-line class is a class offered by the school, where the student attends on-site within the designated 

period in the school day and would not be considered a virtual school or program.   
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For 2020-21, some regularly enrolled students may be attending as Remote Learning students during 

some portion of the school year (rather than On-Site) because of concerns related to the COVID-19 

pandemic. Remote learning is not simply virtual curriculum and instruction purchased and made available to 

the regulary-enrolled student attending as a Remote Learning student. See page 26 of this Enrollment 

Handbook. Also see KSDE’s NAVIGATING CHANGE: Kansas’ Guide to Learning and School Safety 

Operations: Fact Sheet:  What’s the Difference Between Remote Learning and Virtual Education - 2020-

21 School Year.  

 

Special Handling of 

Special Education Students Attending a Virtual School 

 

Situation A: Student is enrolled in and receives 125 minutes of special education services from a school 

in district 888 and is enrolled and attending for 275 minutes at a virtual school or program in district 

999. 

 

In KIDS, district 999 is able to claim minutes enrolled of 275 and will receive .8 FTE. In district 888, even if 

the district correctly claims 125 minutes, the fact that they also claimed a primary disability for this 

student, KIDS will make the student 1.0 FTE. The auditor of district 888 is the only person able to change 

the FTE for the student at district 888 to the correct amount of .3 FTE. This is handled through the Audit 

Application program available  

only to the audit staff. The auditor of district 999 should also make an adjustment on the student 

reducing the minutes enrolled to 235 (360 – 125) and thus lowering the virtual enrollment to .7. 

 

Districts have available in the KIDS Collection the “Students in Multiple Schools” report. This 

report identifies those students for whom the districts should expect possible audit 

exceptions.  

 

Note:  The Director of Fiscal Auditing reviews a KIDS report that identifies whether a student 

is claimed by more than one building for more than 1.0 FTE in total. As part of resolving 

duplicate-claimed students, the Director may make changes to correct the student count 

based on information received during a subsequent audit of another district. Those changes 

may happen after the district receives the initial audit report from School Finance. If this 

happens, a revised audit report will be sent to the district with an explanation for any 

changes.  

 

Auditors are required to check “minutes enrolled” on all special education students who are also enrolled in 

another district’s virtual school or program. Districts must be prepared to provide special education service logs 

to document minutes enrolled. 

 

STUDENTS ATTENDING TWO BUILDINGS WITHIN SAME DISTRICT. 

Students who attend more than one building within the district are to be counted in the building the 

student attends the most. A district may choose to count the student in the building with lessor 

attendance, but may not count in both buildings. This DOES NOT apply when one of the buildings is a 

virtual school or program. See page 17 for information about submitting students who attend both a 

traditional school and a virtual school or program. 

 

 

 

https://www.ksde.org/Portals/0/Communications/Navigating%20Change/Remote%20Learning.pdf?ver=2020-08-05-150037-843
https://www.ksde.org/Portals/0/Communications/Navigating%20Change/Remote%20Learning.pdf?ver=2020-08-05-150037-843
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STUDENTS ATTENDING TWO BUILDINGS IN DIFFERENT DISTRICTS. 

If student is attending a traditional school in one district and a virtual school/program in another district, 

the traditional school counts minutes first and the virtual school/program is limited to remaining 

minutes.   

 

For example, if student is counted for 200 minutes at the traditional school, the virtual school/program 

is limited to 160 minutes (360 – 200). 

 

The above statement is true in all cases except when an agreement to some other split of minutes has 

been signed by both districts. These agreements must be signed by the superintendents of both 

districts. 

 

If student is attending two traditional schools or two virtual schools/programs, the districts need to have 

an agreement on the minutes (FTE) that each school will count. 

 

Homebound Instruction 

 

A student who is unable to physically attend school may still be counted if Homebound Instruction is 

provided. A licensed teacher is required to provide services to the student. The teacher must document 

date and subject(s) for which instruction is being provided. Sending homework to a homebound or 

hospitalized student does not fulfill the requirements to be counted for funding. 

 

MINUTES ENROLLED is computed as if the student attended in person those classes documented by the 

homebound instructor. 

 

IF THE STUDENT HAS AN IEP, the district need only show that the student has received special education 

homebound services. 

 

Military Second Count 

 

If the enrollment of “Military Dependent” students on February 22, who were not counted by the district 

on September 21, is 25 FTE or an FTE equal to or greater than 1% of the current year September 21 

enrollment (excluding virtual students), then those military dependent students enrolled and attending 

on Feb. 22 that were not included in the September 21 count will be added to the district’s enrollment. 

 

February 22 will be treated like September 21 for enrollment purposes, and will include enrollment and 

all weighted items assigned to these students. The attendance window will run from February 1 to 

March 4. If February 20 falls on a weekend, the count day moves to the next school day in a similar 

fashion as the September 20 count day. 

 

Note:  The military second count does not apply to students attending a virtual school or program. 

 

KIDS data is collected on students with the MILT collection which closes on or about March 

10th of each year. 
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Age requirements for Preschool, Kindergarten and Grade 1 are the same as with the September count. 

 

Students counted on February 22 are eligible for all weightings just as students counted on September 

21. 

 

Auditors will take caution in scheduling districts after March 10  when the districts are known to 

qualify for the 2nd count and do the same for districts within 30 miles of Forts Riley or Leavenworth. 

 

 

Concurrent High School Enrollment 

 

Students attending both a high school and a post-secondary school need to use a daily average time 

that includes the time at both attendance centers. 

 

CAUTION: Some college classes do not meet every day. Use the guidance shown under a modified block 

schedule to determine average daily minutes. 

 

If colleges do not take attendance and supply the high school with daily attendance records, the high 

school must take attendance. A sample of  a Class Attendance Log is available under the “Forms and 

Documents” section on KSDE’s Fiscal Auditing webpage for schools to use to verify attendance at the 

college or technical school. 

 

KIDS Data Element D26 – Concurrent High School Enrollment 

 

 

  0 = None 

1 = Any Kansas Board of Regents approved and funded CTE course at a Technical College or 

Community College 

2 = Community College 

3 = State University 

4 = Private College or Other Postsecondary 

5 = High school program held outside of main high school campus. 

 

Additional requirements for concurrent high school enrollment: 

1. Each student is of sophomore, junior or senior status (10th, 11th or 12th grade) as designated by the 

unified school district.    

 

2. Each student has the permission of his/her high school principal to enroll.  (Sample form available 

on website). The form is to be filled out for each student, signed by the high school principal, and 

kept on file in the student's postsecondary education institution file. This permission form must be 

provided to the Kansas State Board of Regents (KBOR) auditors during the college's annual fiscal 

audit.  

 

3. The course is a bona fide college course, approved by the KBOR, taught with the same requirements 

and rigor as any other college course.  

 

https://www.ksde.org/Agency/Fiscal-and-Administrative-Services/Fiscal-Auditing
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4. The college and unified school district have a cooperative agreement to allow such enrollment as 

required by law. 

 

5. The college provides verification of attendance from the start of school to October 4. 

 

6. Only students enrolled for college credit can be carried on the class roster.  

 

Kansas Academy of Math and Science (KAMS) 

 

The Kansas Academy of Math and Science (KAMS) is a residential program open to high school students 

who are academically talented in science and mathematics. The program is hosted by Fort Hays State 

University. Students enrolled and attending KAMS will be reported by their home district, who is 

responsible to submit KIDS records for these students.   

 

These students will not be included in the adjusted enrollment of the district. These students are not 

eligible for any weightings and are not included in the calculation for the district’s Local Option Budget 

(LOB). 

 

To correctly submit a KAMS student on an ENRL submission: 

 

D2 –  Accountability School, the building number of the high school where the student 

would normally have attended within the district. 

D15 – Funding School, must be the district office building number. 

D16 – Attendance School, must be 9100 (Fort Hays State University) 

D25 – Minutes Enrolled, should be 300. 

D26 – Concurrent Enrollment, must be 3 (State University). 

 

Juvenile Detention Centers 

 

A pupil confined in and receiving educational services at a Juvenile Detention Center (JDC) shall not be 

counted in the regular enrollment of a district. JDCs are funded separately, receiving double funding, and 

have three count dates. For information on counting students at a JDC please refer to the Juvenile 

Detention Center Audit Guide available on KSDE’s Fiscal Auditing webpage. 

 

Scenario: Student is enrolled in district 888, and was absent from district 888 on September 21, 

however, did attend on September 15 and September 30 fulfilling the attendance rule. On September 

16, the student was arrested and placed at the JDC in district 999 and received educational services at 

the JDC on September 21. 

 

Question: Can the student be included in the enrollment of district 888? 

 

Answer: No. The student was enrolled and attending a JDC on September 21 in district 999. District 999 

will claim the student in the count of their JDC on September 21. 

 

https://www.ksde.org/Agency/Fiscal-and-Administrative-Services/Fiscal-Auditing
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Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facilities 

 

Districts that house a Psychiatric Residential Treatment Facility (PRTF) have the option to count the 

students under the JDC rules or as a regular student. 

 

PRTFs are designated by the Kansas Department for Children and Families (DCF), and are assigned a bed 

limit. For those districts that choose the JDC option, they are limited to the number of students equal to 

the bed limit set by DCF. If the facility has students in excess of the bed limit, those students can be 

claimed as regular students. 

 

For those districts choosing to not use JDC counting, the students will be counted as regular students, 

with the same enrollment rules and all weightings are available to the district.  

 

Out-of-state Students 

 

Students who are not Kansas residents (Out-of-state students) can be counted as regular enrollment for 

a district as follows: 

• 2018-19 as 1.0 FTE 

• 2019-20 as 0.75 FTE* 

• 2020-21 as 0.75 FTE* 

• 2021-22 and thereafter as 0.50 FTE* 

 

*Out-of-state students whose parents or legal guardians are employed by the district where the student 

is enrolled or who were enrolled in a public school in Kansas during 2016-17 and who attended public 

school in Kansas during the immediate preceding school year will continue to be counted as 1.0 FTE. 

(K.S.A. 72-5132). However, out-of-state students are excluded from enrollment counts of a virtual school 

or program. (K.S.A. 72-3715(f)). 

 

Foreign Exchange Students 

 

Foreign exchange students can only be counted if they are enrolled for at least the equivalent of one 

semester or two quarters. Students who have graduated from high school in their home country cannot 

be enrolled.   

 

Documentation of 558 hours of instruction will be required at audit. 

 

Work-Based Learning 

 

Work-Based Learning is a career preparation opportunity for regularly-enrolled students who want to 

gain work experience in an area or field that is directly related to a course the student is currently 

enrolled in or has taken.  “Directly related” means the work-based learning experience has academic, 

employability, and occupational job performance competencies that are related to a course the student 

is currently taking or has taken.  
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A student’s Work-Based Learning experience could be related to a Career Technical Education (CTE) 

course or regular course (Non–CTE course) a student is currently enrolled in or has taken. Here are the 

enrollment and attendance-related criteria for each:  

 

Work-Based Learning CTE experiences: The student must have been enrolled, and/or be currently 

enrolled, in a technical and/ or application level course(s) (one credit) in the pathway related to the 

career experience. (Not enrolled solely in the introductory level course.) If the Work-Based Learning 

experience is linked to a CTE course approved for extra funding (.5 funding) under the Pathways 

process, a maximum of 2.0 hours Work-Based Learning experience will count toward the student’s 

attendance but only 1.0 hour will count toward CTE (.5) weighted funding. 

 

Work-Based Learning Non–CTE experiences: To count a student’s non-CTE-related Work-Based 

Learning experience toward school attendance time, the Work-Based Learning experience must 

directly relate to a course the student is currently enrolled in or has taken. This means the work-

based learning experience has academic, employability skills and occupational job performance 

competencies that are related to a course the student is currently taking or has taken. State funding 

for non-CTE work-based experience shall be based on a one to two ratio and is limited to the time in 

the related class with a maximum of two hours work experience per related class. For example, one 

hour of classroom instruction to two hours of work experience (per year). The combination of 

classroom and Work-Based Learning experience may not exceed 1.0 FTE for state funding purposes. 

 

Regardless of whether the Work-Based Learning experience is related to a CTE or non–CTE course, the 

following additional criteria must be met: 

 

• Work-Based Learning Agreement:  The student must have an up-to-date learning agreement in 

place and on file at the school (it should be included as part of the student’s Individual Plan of 

Study file (IPS)/portfolio), as well as a copy at the workplace. The agreement must be signed by 

the student, the student’s parent/guardian, the teacher of record, the school’s Work-Based 

Learning coordinator (if applicable), and the work-site supervisor or adult mentor. A suggested 

agreement is shown starting on page 11 of KSDE’s Kansas Work-Based Learning: Personalized 

Learning Plan Guidance Document  Please keep in mind the agreement is not simply having a 

liability agreement on file. 

 

• Work log/timesheets/attendance hours:  For the duration of the student’s Work-Based Learning 

experience, a work log or timesheet must be maintained and regularly signed by the student’s 

worksite supervisor or, only as appropriate, by the school’s Work-Based Learning coordinator. 

For KSDE audit purposes, the work log/timesheet must be made available at the time of audit 

and must include documentation of daily time worked by the student from the beginning of the 

school year through October 4th. In addition, student work logs are required to be submitted to 

the district weekly throughout the duration of the student’s Work-Based Learning experience. 

 

 

Audit Requirements 

 

KSDE auditors must verify the following items related to a student’s Work-Based Learning attendance:  

 

https://www.ksde.org/Portals/0/CSAS/CSAS%20Home/CTE%20Home/Kansas%20Work-Based%20Learning_Personalized%20Learning%20Plan.pdf
https://www.ksde.org/Portals/0/CSAS/CSAS%20Home/CTE%20Home/Kansas%20Work-Based%20Learning_Personalized%20Learning%20Plan.pdf
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• Work-Based Learning agreement.  

• Attendance records/work log/timesheets (from beginning of school through October 4th). 

• Work must be directly related to a course the student is currently taking or has taken. 

• *New – Verify record of weekly meeting with Work-Based Learning teacher/coordinator and student. 

 

KSDE will make the final determination on any disputed Work-Based Learning experience and whether it 

relates to course. If a district is planning to offer Work-Based Learning experiences, we recommend 

contacting Natalie Clark, Education Program Consultant. Contact information: (785) 296-4916 or 

ndclark@ksde.org 

 

Preschool-Aged At-Risk (formerly: 4-Year-Old At-Risk or State PreK) 

 

To claim students as Preschool-Aged At-Risk (4-year-old - KIDS grade 04 and 3-year-old – KIDS grade 33) 

the following must be in place: 

A. District has an approved Preschool-Aged At-Risk (formerly known as 4-Year-Old at-risk) program. 

B. Student must be three or four years old on or before August 31 of current school year; only 4-

year-olds at-risk (KIDS grade 04) will be funded for the 2020-21 school year.  KIDS grade 33, 3 

year-olds at risk will not be funded for 2020-21. 

C. Student must not be of Kindergarten age (five years old on or before August 31). 

D. Student must not also be receiving special education-funded services. 

E. Student must meet at least one qualifying criteria listed below. 

Qualifying Criteria: 

1. Poverty.  Student qualies for free meals under the National School Lunch Program. 

2. Single Parent Family. Custodial parent is unmarried on the first day of school. 

3. Department for Children and Families (DCF) referral.  Reason for referral must describe the 

need for the child to attend the Preschool-aged At-Risk program and be documented and 

signed by the DCF agent. 

4. Teen Parent. At least one parent was a teenager when child was born. 

5. Parent Diploma. At least one parent is lacking a high school diploma or GED on the first day of 

school at time of enrollment.  

6. Limited English Proficiency.  Student qualies for bilingual weighting and ESOL services must be 

provided. 

7. Developmentally or academically delayed based on validated assessments. Lower than expected 

developmental progress in at least one of the following areas: 

a. Cognitive Development 

b. Physical Development 

c. Communication/literacy 

d. Social-emotional/behavior 

e. Adaptive behavior/self help skills  

See clarifying note below for item #7.  

 

8. Child qualifying for migrant status. Copy of Certificate of Eligibility must be on file. 

9. Homeless: Student qualifies as homeless on count day as determined by local educational 

liaison. 

mailto:ndclark@ksde.org
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Note on Item #7 above: Based on appropriate and valid assessment results, the developmental 

progress of the child has been determined by a trained professional to be lower than typically 

expected for his/her chronological age, yet above what would be considered eligible for special 

education services (based on the procedural manual and guidance materials of specific assessment 

instruments). Scores that fall at or below the 40th percentile indicate ‘at-risk’. 

 

FTE is 0.5 for funded Preschool-Aged At-Risk students. only 4-year-olds at-risk (KIDS grade 04) will be 

funded for the 2020-21 school year. Students who are 3 year-olds at risk (KIDS grade 33) will not be 

funded for 2020-21. 

 

Audit Requirements 

Auditors must verify the following items in regard to Preschool-Aged At-Risk students. 

• The district must have a KSDE-approved Preschool-Aged At-Risk program.  

• Students meet the enrolled and attending provisions. 

• Each student must be three or four years old on or before August 31 of current school year; only 4-

year-olds at-risk (KIDS grade 04) will be funded for the 2020-21 school year.   

• Verify documentation for each child’s eligibility for the Preschool-Aged At-Risk program. 

 

Remote Learning Students - 2020-21 School Year 

 

Entire section is *New - Remote Learning student:  For 2020-21 school year only, a Remote Learning 

student is a student who is regularly enrolled in the school district he or she would normally have 

attended on-site, but the student is attending remotely because of concerns related to the COVID-19 

pandemic.  

 

Note regarding quarantine/quarantined students: if the quarantined student is 

healthy enough to participate in instruction, they can be provided services as Remote 

Learners. 

 

It is especially important to note the following Assurances1 when providing students with Remote 

Learning services during 2020-21:  

- Remote Learning should approximate the student learning experience that is taking place in the On-Site 

(brick and mortar) classroom. Remote Learning is not simply virtual curriculum and instruction purchased 

and made available to the regularly enrolled student and paired with a daily call from a local teacher to 

the student. 

- curriculum and Instruction are prepared, provided and/or supervised by local teachers and staff in 

the student’s home district. Curriculum and instruction must coincide with each student’s On-Site 

classroom to ensure that when a Remote Learning student returns to the On-Site classroom that he 

or she is able to make a seamless transition.  

- the academic progress of each student must be monitored daily by local teachers to ensure that 

when the student is able to return to the On-Site classroom that he or she is able to make a 

seamless transition. 

-  

Note1 The above-listed are from the Remote Learning 2020-21 Assurances on page 5 of KSDE’s 

NAVIGATING CHANGE: Kansas’ Guide to Learning and School Safety Operations; Remote Learning     

https://www.ksde.org/Portals/0/Communications/Navigating%20Change/Remote%20Learning.pdf?ver=2020-08-13-130951-373
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Each district providing Remote Learning services during 2020-21 must complete the Assurance 

document and return it to KSDE no later than September 1, 2020 at this address: 

remotelearning@ksde.org  If a district is unsure whether Remote Learning services will be provided or 

needed during 2020-21, district officials should error on the side of completing and returning the 

Assurance document to KSDE. 

 

Further, detailed criteria for providing Remote Learning services during 2020-21 are outlined below:  

  

• Enrollment and Attendance:  Student is regularly enrolled in the school district he or she would have 

normally attended on-site. The student is not enrolled in a virtual school full time. Student must be 

enrolled and attending on Count Day, which is September 21, 2020 for the 2020-21 school year.  

 

On 9.14.2020, the Enrollment handbook was amended to include the following italicized language: 

 

A Remote Learning student’s attendance for 2020-21 will be based on the following: 

• student must be enrolled on September 21, 2020. 

• parent/guardian completed the Remote Learning Assurances document and the district has it on file. 

• district completed the Remote Learning 2020-2021 Assurances document and submitted it to KSDE.  

• district made daily contact with Remote Learning student as described in the Enrollment Handbook 

section “Daily meaningful connection with local licensed teacher.” 

 

In summary, as of 9.14.2020, KSDE determined that for 2020-21, Remote Learning students do not need to 

maintain Daily Activity Logs. Instead, in place of the Student’s daily activity log the following must happen: 

1. Parent/Guardian signs Assurance:  the parent/guardian of each Remote Learning student must 

complete the one-page Parent/Legal Guardian-related Remote Learning Assurances document and 

provide it to the district.  The Parent/Guardian Remote Learning Assurances document can be found 

here on the KSDE Fiscal Auditing webpage, under the Items of Interest section:  

https://www.ksde.org/Agency/Fiscal-and-Administrative-Services/Fiscal-Auditing  The district must 

maintain a copy of each Remote Learning student’s Parent/Legal Guardian-related Remote Learning 

Assurances document and make it available to KSDE auditors. 

 

2. Local licensed teacher must make daily meaningful connection with Remote learning student (this is 

not new): If your district is live-streaming classes to each of your students, that is the meaningful daily 

connection. However, if your district is not live-streaming classes to each of its Remote Learning 

students, then a local licensed teacher employed by the district must make a meaningful daily 

connection (by either a telephone call or interactive video conference call) to the student on each day 

the student is a Remote Learner during the 2020-21 school year. Please remember the daily 

meaningful connection is not solely for the purpose of taking the Remote Learning student’s daily 

attendance.  

 

In addition, the district must maintain a simple log documenting that a local licensed teacher made a 

daily meaningful connection (phone call/interactive videoconference) with each Remote Learning 

student. At minimum, the district’s daily student contact log should include logging daily contact made 

for any and all students participating as Remote Learners on any day from the beginning of school to 

October 4, 2020. Make the log available for KSDE audit. (Note: if your district is live-streaming classes 

to Remote Learners, there is no need for the district to maintain a daily contact log because student 

attendance will be taken as normal by each local teacher during each live-streaming class session  

mailto:remotelearning@ksde.org
https://www.ksde.org/Agency/Fiscal-and-Administrative-Services/Fiscal-Auditing
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attended by Remote Learning students.) For attendance related to federal funding (average daily 

attendance throughout the 2020-21 school year), KSDE strongly recommends maintaining the 

district’s daily student contact log for the duration of 2020-21 school year. (Again, if your district is live-

streaming classes to Remote Learners, there is no need for the district to maintain a daily contact log 

because student attendance will be taken as normal by each local teacher during each live-streaming 

class session attended by Remote Learning students.) 

 

To be clear: the signed Parent Guardian-related Remote Learning Assurances document and the 

district’s log of a local teacher’s daily meaningful contact with the Remote Learning student will replace 

having Remote Learning students maintain a Daily Activity Log.  

 

FTE Calculations are based on KIDS data element D25 - Minutes Enrolled.  

 

 

For Remote Learners, for 2020-21 only, D25 Minutes Enrolled will be based on the following: 

 

FIRST: The following requirements must be met: 

• student must be enrolled on September 21, 2020. 

• parent/guardian completed the Remote Learning Assurances document and the district has it on file. 

• district completed the Remote Learning 2020-2021 Assurances document and submitted it to KSDE.  

• district made daily contact with Remote Learning student as described in the Enrollment Handbook 

section “Daily meaningful connection with local licensed teacher.” 

 

THEN: (and only if each of the above-listed requirements is met):   

D25 Minutes Enrolled = minutes the Remote Learning student would have attended if On-Site 
               (For example: If On-Site Learning day is 415 minutes, then Remote Learning students Minutes Enrolled = 415) 

 

(Next section amended as of 9/14/2020; b/c Remote Learning student daily activity log requirement eliminated)  

 

Time counted toward attendance is based on a daily log.   

The section immediately below explains how to calculate minutes enrolled (time counted toward 

attendance) for Remote Learning students.  

 

FTE Calculations are based on KIDS data element D25 - Minutes Enrolled.  

 

Calculating minutes enrolled for a Remote Learning student:  For 2020-21, minutes 

enrolled for a Remote Learner are based on the student’s average daily attendance which must 

be supported by the student’s daily log. Average daily attendance for a Remote Learner is 

calculated by adding together each day’s attendance for the week and dividing by 5 days.  

For example, a Remote Learner’s daily log shows the following for the week of count day: 

• September 21-  360 minutes 

• September 22 - 120 minutes 

• September 23 - 216 minutes 

• September 24 - 220 minutes 

• September 25 - 360 minutes 

 

In KIDS, minutes enrolled should be reported as 255. (360 + 120 + 216 + 220 + 360 / 5 = 255) 

This student would be 0.7 FTE (255 minutes / 360 minutes = 0.7 FTE).  
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If the student’s schedule normally takes 2 weeks to complete (for example, for high school 

students with a block schedule) then add together the daily attendance for all 10 days and 

divide by 10 to calculate average daily attendance.  

 

Also, it is possible that many Remote Learners will not spend traditional hours or the same 

amount of time learning as they would if attending On-Site. Therefore, including daily learning 

activity logged on a Saturday and or Sunday (a 7-day week) is permissible. Regardless, when 

calculating average daily attendance for the week, the sum of daily minutes would always be 

divided by 5 days when calculating average daily attendance for the one week. 

 

There is no requirement by KSDE that a Remote Learning student must attend 360 minutes 

each day; part-time attendance is allowed with funding adjusted accordingly. 

 

Finally, for 2020-21, if a Remote Learning student is absent on September 21, minutes enrolled 

are calculated the same as described above except that attendance from (only) 4 daily logs are 

added together and divided by 4 days to calculate average daily attendance for the week.  

 

• Daily log:  Student must maintain a daily log of learning activities signed by the student and a parent, 

guardian or responsible adult and the daily log must be submitted to the district. There are two 

instances in which a daily log would not be required:  

3. The district provides Remote Learning services to the student by streaming live video of the 

student’s On-site class/es and local teacher(s) take attendance as normal and therefore a daily log 

is unnecessary.  See Note2 below regarding screen time, student learning and engagement.  

4. A school building is closed for On-Site learning and Remote Learning services are provided by local 

teachers who can and do take attendance as normal/the same as On-Site classes. Also see Note2.  

Sample Remote learning Daily Logs are available under the “Items of Interest” section on KSDE’s Fiscal 

Auditing webpage.   

Note2: It is not expected, nor encouraged, that students will spend multiple hours of screen time while 

attending as a Remote Learning Student. It is possible that many Remote Learners will not spend 

traditional hours or the same amount of time learning as they would if attending On-Site. Instead, the 

reality is that Remote Learning students will have some level of self-direction in each learning day and 

that families and caregivers will become the hub for academic tasks. Therefore, it is extremely 

important for Remote Learners and their families to have daily meaningful contact with local teachers 

not just for attendance purposes but primarily to keep students engaged and to ensure that when the 

student is able to return to the On-Site classroom that he or she is able to make a seamless transition. 

This note is adapted from Appendix L of KSDE’s NAVIGATING CHANGE: Kansas’ Guide to Learning and 

School Safety Operations; Remote Learning 

• Daily meaningful connection with local licensed educator: Students must have at least one meaningful 

daily connection with a local teacher that is employed by the district. Such connections can be through 

telephone and/or interactive video conferencing. Note: Contact is required with at least one local 

teacher, not all teachers. However, students must have ready access to all local content teachers 

throughout each week and student questions must be answered within 24 hours during school days, 

preferably the same school day if possible.  

On 9.14.2020, the Enrollment handbook was amended to include the following italicized language as it 

relates to Daily Connection with local licensed educator:   

https://www.ksde.org/Agency/Fiscal-and-Administrative-Services/Fiscal-Auditing
https://www.ksde.org/Agency/Fiscal-and-Administrative-Services/Fiscal-Auditing
https://www.ksde.org/Portals/0/Communications/Navigating%20Change/Appendix.pdf
https://www.ksde.org/Portals/0/Communications/Navigating%20Change/Appendix.pdf
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The district must maintain a simple log documenting that a local licensed teacher made a daily meaningful 

connection (phone call/interactive videoconference) with each Remote Learning student. At minimum, the 

district’s daily student contact log should include logging daily contact made for any and all students 

participating as Remote Learners on any day from the beginning of school to October 4, 2020. Make the log 

available for KSDE audit. (Note: if your district is live-streaming classes to Remote Learners, there is no need 

for the district to maintain a daily contact log because student attendance will be taken as normal by each 

local teacher during each live-streaming class session attended by Remote Learning students.) For 

attendance related to federal funding (average daily attendance throughout the 2020-21 school year), KSDE 

strongly recommends maintaining the district’s daily student contact log for the duration of 2020-21 school 

year. 

 

• Curriculum and instruction:  Remote learning is prepared, provided and/or supervised by local 

teachers and staff from the student’s home district. Remote Learning is not simply virtual curriculum and 

instruction purchased and made available to the regularly enrolled student and paired with a daily call from 

a local teacher to the student. The student is assessed on the same standards and competencies as On-

Site students using each and all progress, academic and social-emotional monitoring assessments 

(Fastbridge, AIMSweb, Interim State Assessments, etc.,) as On-Site students. Learning may be 

asynchronous (can take classes anytime, anywhere) or simultaneous (scheduled). 

 

• Professional Development: In preparation for the 2020-21 school year, timely and relevant 

professional development must be provided to local educators providing services to Remote Learners.  

 

• Funding:  Base aid for 2020-21 is $4,569 and applicable weightings are available, including At-Risk (free 

lunch), CTE, Bilingual and transportation. For a Remote Learning student to be funded full-time, the 

student must participate in a minimum of six hours (360 minutes) of learning activity each day. This is 

the total of learning time in one day, not screen time. Again, it is not expected, nor encouraged, that 

Remote Learning students will spend multiple hours of screen time while attending as a Remote 

Learning Student.  It is possible that many Remote Learners will not spend traditional hours or the 

same amount of time learning as they would if attending On-Site. Instead, the reality is that students 

will have some level of self-direction in each learning day and that families and caregivers will become 

the hub for academic tasks. Therefore, it is extremely important for Remote Learners and their 

families to have daily meaningful contact with local teacher(s) not just for attendance purposes but 

primarily to keep students engaged and to ensure that when the student is able to return to the On-

Site classroom that he or she is able to make a seamless transition.  

Note: the above bullet-listed criteria for Remote Learning students are the same as outlined in KSDE’s 

NAVIGATING CHANGE: Kansas’ Guide to Learning and School Safety Operations; Remote Learning 

 

Audit Requirements 

 

Auditors must verify the following in regard to each Remote Learning Student for the 2020-21 school year: 

 

• Student was enrolled on September 21, 2020. 

• Student received daily meaningful contact/connection(s) with a local licensed teacher employed by the 

district. Such connection was by telephone and/or interactive video conferencing. 

• district maintained a log documenting that a local licensed teacher made a daily meaningful connection 

(phone call/interactive videoconference) with each Remote Learning student. (No log necessary if live-

streaming.) 

https://www.ksde.org/Portals/0/Communications/Navigating%20Change/Remote%20Learning.pdf?ver=2020-08-13-130951-373
https://www.ksde.org/Portals/0/Communications/Navigating%20Change/Remote%20Learning.pdf?ver=2020-08-13-130951-373
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• Student maintained a daily log of activities signed by both the student, parent or responsible adult and 

submitted to the district. Daily log was not be pre-filled by the district or school.  

• Enrolled minutes submitted for funding purposes (KIDS data field D25) were based on daily logs 

maintained and signed by the student and the student’s parent, guardian or responsible adult.  

• District completed the Remote Learning 2020-2021 Assurances document and submitted it to KSDE.  

• Parent/guardian completed the Remote Learning Assurances document and the district has it on file. 
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Section below is for KSDE Auditors - Audit Requirements for Enrollment  

 

All schools within a district must be audited except for the six largest districts below: 

• USD 229 – Blue Valley 

• USD 233 – Olathe 

• USD 259 – Wichita 

• USD 500 – Kansas City 

• USD 501 – Topeka 

• USD 512 – Shawnee Mission 

In the districts listed above enrollment shall be audited in all high schools, all special schools, a minimum of 

50% of middle schools or junior high schools, and a minimum of 33% of elementary schools.   

 

Fiscal Auditing will determine which schools will be audited each fiscal year. If it is determined during the audit 

that schools not originally selected require auditing, these schools should be ADDED to the list of audited 

schools. 

 

The following items MUST be verified during the audit of each school district: 

• Enrollment Headcount and FTE 

• All students meet the “enrolled and attending” provision. 

• All students are counted in the correct grade category. 

• All part-time student’s FTE (minutes enrolled) are reported and calculated correctly. 

• All Kindergarten, Preschool Special Education and 1st graders meet age requirements. 

• Check duplicate list and make appropriate audit exceptions. 

• Check virtual school students and verify all are Kansas residents. 

• Verify that virtual school students have been identified correctly. 
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Weightings 
 

Introduction: The Kansas School Equity and Enhancement Act includes specific provisions for weighted 

enrollments, including at-risk student weighting, high density at-risk, bilingual, career technical 

education, transportation, etc…. (K.S.A. 72-5131) 

 

Substantive changes to weighted enrollment-related information are shown in blue.  

 

 

At-Risk Student Weighting 

 

At-Risk student weighting is calculated by taking the district’s total number of free lunch students 

multiplied by the at-risk weighting factor, currently 0.484, and rounded to one decimal place. 

 

How free lunch enrollment will be calculated for 2020-21: 

 

If no military enrollment, then: 

September 21, 2020 headcount of students claimed as FREE. 

 

If military enrollment, then: 

September 21, 2020 headcount of students claimed as FREE plus the February 22, 2021 

estimated headcount of students claimed as FREE.  

 

A student can be included in FREE lunch headcount/list of “At-Risk” students by any of the following 

methods:  

 

• Have on file an income eligibility form showing income. A school official, having reviewed the form, 

should sign it and mark which category the student belongs. The student may qualify for Free, 

Reduced or Paid meals. Only Free meal eligibility qualifies for At-Risk funding.  

• The student is included on the “Direct Certification” list. 

• Prior year carryover of income eligibility forms and direct certifications. The carryover is good for 30 

operating days (when meals are served) or when a new application is submitted. Carryover applies 

to any method of identifying students. Note: USDA regulations require School Nutrition Program 

applications be provided to newly enrolled students and that applications be determined promptly. 

• School participates in the national school nutrition program as a Provision II school or as a 

Community Eligible School. All students receive a free meal; however, for at-risk funding purposes, 

the district must still document which students qualify for free status. (Approved Community 

Eligibility (CEP) schools should not report 100% students.)  Rather, CEP schools should report only 

students whom are eligible based on a completed Household Economic Survey form for each 

student reported. Non-CEP schools do not need to change the way this data has been reported.  

• Be included on the district’s official migrant count. 

• Be included on the district’s official homeless list. 
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The following students are excluded from the at-risk count for a district: 

• Students enrolled in grades 1 through 12 who attend less than full time. 

• Students who on September 20 are 20 years old or older. 

• Students counted as Virtual. 

• Non-funded preschool students. 

 

 

KIDS Data Element D34 – Eligibility for National School Lunch Program (School Nutrition 

Program), allowable entries are: 

 

Blank or “0” = Paid, or not eligible 

1 = Eligible for reduced price lunch 

2 = Eligible for free lunch 

 

 

COMMUNITY ELIGIBLE SCHOOLS. 

 

The Community Eligible Schools (CES) provision of the national school lunch program provides for all 

students in a school to receive free lunches if the school meets qualifying conditions. If a school decides 

to use the Community Eligibility Provision, the at-risk count will still be determined based on those 

students who qualify as “free” by way of direct certification, the Application for Free and Reduced Price 

meals or the Community Eligiblity Provision Household Economic Survey. 

 

CHANGES DUE TO VERIFICATION. 

School Lunch programs are required to verify 3% of income eligibility forms.  Schools/programs that do 

not offer lunch service and use the state at-risk application to identify at-risk students must verify 3% of 

this population as well. This verification process must be completed by November 15 and changes 

reported to KSDE’s Child Nutrition and Wellness team by December 15. Auditors will be asking the 

districts for the list of student’s whose income forms were verified. If, during the verification process, a 

student(s) eligibility changed, said change is retro-active to the September 21 count.  

 

Families that have been denied benefits due to verification can re-apply. If they re-apply on or before 

January 14th, the student’s new status is to be reported. For districts that were audited prior to the 

verification process being complete, processing of the audit will be held until the Director of Fiscal 

Auditing has requested this information from the district and has made appropriate audit adjustments. 

 

Failure to verify: 

• A district that fails to verify 3% of lunch applications will have a 3% reduction of the at-risk count at 

that district.   

• An alternative program that fails to verify 3% of the state at-risk applications will have a 3% reduction 

of the at-risk count at the school/program. 

Audit Requirements 

• Review the required number of applications. 

• Check verification and make appropriate adjustments. Report total changes on the Overall Audit Summary 

Tab in the Audit Report. 
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High-Density At-Risk Weighting 

 

This weighting factor is based on the district’s free lunch percentage; a calculation of the number of 

students claimed as free divided by the enrollment headcount (excluding virtual and non-funded 

preschool students). (The percent should be rounded to two decimals.) The factor is determined by the 

free lunch percentage for the current (2020-21) year. 

 

High-density at-risk weighting will be calculated for 2020-21 and the greater of the following will be used:  

 

At the district (USD) level: 

1.  If the free lunch percentage is 35% or more, but less than 50%; then take the number of free 

lunch students times (the free lunch percentage minus 35%), then times 0.7. 

2.  If the free lunch percentage is 50% or more, multiply the number of free lunch students times 

0.105. 

 

At the building level (will be a sum of all buildings that qualify): 

1. If the free lunch percentage is 35% or more, but less than 50%; then take the number of free 

lunch students times (the free lunch percentage minus 35%), then times 0.7. 

2. If the free lunch percentage is 50% or more, multiply the number of free lunch students times 

0.105. 

 

School Facilities Weighting 

 

School Facilities weighting (new facilities weighting) is calculated by taking the student FTE in a new 

facility times 25% (.25) rounded to one decimal place. The auditor is concerned only with the total 

student FTE. This is not a KIDS item, and is reported directly on the SO66. 

 

Eligibility for new facilities weighting is dependent on the school district having: 

 

1. a 25% Local Option Budget (LOB) and,  

2. documentation showing the new facility was paid for from bonds authorized on or before 7/1/2015. 

 

(School facilities weighting is also available for new schools built primarily with federal funds on military 

installations on USD 207 and USD 475.) 

 

To determine the amount of the Local Option Budget, the auditor can take the LOB Base General Fund, 

multiply the total by 25% (0.25) and check this number against the Supplemental General Fund Budget 

to determine if the district has budgeted the entire requirement. The weighting is assigned in the year in 

which operation of a new school facility is commenced and in the next succeeding year. 

 

The intent of the law was to allow two years, so if a school had opened after September 20th, 2019 the 

school would still receive two years funding. For example, if a school was opened on February 1, 2020 

(FY20), new facilities weighting would be available on September 20, 2020 (FY21) and September 20, 

2021 (FY22).  
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Generally, a remodeled facility does not meet the definition of “new” facility, however under certain 

circumstances, a remodel has been allowed for funding. Districts should contact  

Craig Neuenswander, Director of School Finance, craign@ksde.org or (785) 296-3872 and discuss this 

issue prior to claiming any remodeled facility. 

 

There are two methods of computing new facilities weighting depending on the following: 

• totally new school, or 

• addition to an existing school 

 

Note: A calculator is available on KSDE’s Fiscal Auditing webpage under the “Calculators” section and can 

be used to calculate School Facilities weighting. Instructions for how to use the calculator are included 

on the “Important Info” tab in the calculator and we kindly suggest starting there first. In addition, below 

are examples for calculating School Facilities weighting, which varies for new buildings, additions and 

student grade levels. 

 

New School Building 

Method 1 – New School Building 

For totally new school building, determine the enrollment FTE for the entire school. Remember that 

special education preschool students count as .5, and be watchful of part-time students and for 

students who may attend outside the building.  

 

 

Table 4 

New Facilities Funding – New Building 

 

Grade Enrollment FTE 

Kindergarten 55 55* 

Kindergarten 

Special Ed. 6 6.0 

1 48 48.0 

2 52 52.0 

3 47 47.0 

4 50 50.0 

Preschool  

3 & 4 year olds 
5 2.5 

Totals 263 260.5 

Total FTE times .25  65.1 

*count each Kindergarten student based on 

their enrollment FTE 

 

The number in the table above that should be reported on the SO66 is 260.5. 

 

 

mailto:craign@ksde.org
https://www.ksde.org/Agency/Fiscal-and-Administrative-Services/Fiscal-Auditing
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New Addition to Existing Building  

For schools with new additions, the calculation is based on the average number of students who are 

attending in the new facility.   

 

Below are three examples of how to determine and compute FTE: 

 

Table 5 computes the student FTE for one room of a new addition. 
 

 

Table 5 

New Facilities Weighting –  

New Classroom Addition 

Same Schedule Every Day 

 

Period Enrollment 

1 12 

2 25 

3 24 

4 0 

5 18 

6 16 

7 21 

Total / 7 periods 116 

 

Average in Room 
16.6 

 

The calculation is repeated for each new room.  The sum of enrollment divided by the number of 

periods equals the reportable enrollment FTE for new facilities.   

 

New Addition to Existing Building  
 

 

Table 6 

New Facilities Weighting 

New Classroom Addition 

Schedule Alternating Every Other Day 

Period Blue Day White Day 

1 20 14 

2 15 18 

3 12 22 

4 0 15 

Total 47 69 

Room Total for 2 days  116 

Room Total / 8 periods  14.5 
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Table 6 computes new facilities FTE for each room of the new addition -- if the school operates on a 

block schedule where every other day is the same. 

 

In Table 7, the room has a different schedule every day, therefore, the school will list enrollments for the 

classroom for the entire week of September 21. 
 

 

Table 7 

New Facilities Weighting – New Classroom Addition 

Different Daily Schedule Every Day 

 

Period Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday 

1 21 15 21 15 18 

2 16 18 16 17 12 

3 18 6 0 9 18 

4 18 12 12 0 0 

5 21 0 0 12 15 

6 17 16 15 21 15 

7 26 15 24 23 22 

8 15 21 17 0 0 

9 6 12 14 18 22 

10 8 12 22 21 16 

Daily Totals 166 127 141 136 138 

Weekly Total 708     

Daily Average 141.6 (708/5)    

Average Enrollment 14.2 (141.6/10)    

 

Note that any room that has 4-Year old At-Risk or Special Education three and four year old students, 

the number of students should be multiplied by .5. For example, in Table 7 above if period 1 on Monday 

was made up of 21 4-year old at-risk students, then the number of students for that period would be 

10.5 (21 X 0.5). 

 

Computing average number of students in a room may be easy for a middle school or high school, but 

becomes very difficult for an elementary school. Care must be taken to account for students pulled out 

of the new room during the day. In the case of elementary schools, it is very possible that periods will 

need to be in as small as 5-minute increments. A calculator is available on KSDE’s Fiscal Auditing 

webpage under the “Calculators” section and can be used to calculate School Facilities weighting. 

Instructions for how to use the calculator are included on the “Important Info” tab in the calculator. We 

kindly suggest starting there first. The calculator includes a template for calculating School Facilities 

weighting for an elementary school, whether new or an addition.  

 

Virtual students and those students counted in the building enrollment who attend outside the building 

are NOT eligible for new facilities weighting.  

 

Audit Requirements 

▪ Auditors must verify that the district has the required 25% LOB. 

▪ Re-compute the district’s calculation for each new room or building. 

▪ Verify that election was held prior to 7-1-2015 (certification from the county election commissioner). 

https://www.ksde.org/Agency/Fiscal-and-Administrative-Services/Fiscal-Auditing
https://www.ksde.org/Agency/Fiscal-and-Administrative-Services/Fiscal-Auditing
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Bilingual Weighting 

 

Two requirements must be met in order for a student to qualify for bilingual weighting: 

1. Student must qualify for services  

2. Teacher must be qualified (have the proper license endorsements) 

Part I:  STUDENT QUALIFICATIONS 

There is a three-step process to identify a student eligible for English Learners services.  

 

Step 1:   

A language other than English must be indicated on the Home Language Survey. The survey must 

have included the following four questions:  

1. What language did your child first learn to speak/use?  

2. What language does your child most often speak/use at home? 

3. What language do you most often speak/use with your child? 

4. What language do the adults regularly present or living in the home most often speak/use while 

in presence of the child? 

Step 2:   

If the Home Language Survey indicates a history of a language other than English is used in the 

home, the student must be assessed for his/her English proficiency using one of the following 

assessments (for grades Pre-K through 12) 

• The Language Assessment Scales (LAS)/LAS LINKS and Pre-LAS 

• The IDEA Proficiency Test (IPT) and Pre IPT 

• The Language Proficiency Test Series (LPTS) 

• The Kansas English Language Proficiency Assessment –The KELPA –P (for placement) 

• The Kansas English Language Proficiency Assessment (KELPA) – state mandated assessment 

to measure annual growth 

• ADULT Learners can use either the QIA (Quick Informal Assessment), IPT-Adult, or CASAS 

(Comprehensive Adult Student Assessment Systems) and TABE (Tests of Adult Basic 

Education). 

Step 3:  

If one of the state-approved assessments determines the student to be limited in any domain 

(listening, speaking, reading, writing, or a composite of the four) of English proficiency then that 

student is eligible to receive ESOL services from a qualified teacher.  

 

The Home Language Survey is only required the first year a student is new to the district.  

 

If the Building Leadership Team (BLT) or Student Intervention Team (SIT) recommends testing, the 

student may be assessed for his/her English proficiency using one of the approved assessments. If 

the student qualifies for services, it is recommended that the school personnel communicate with 

the family and suggest they fill out a new Home Language Survey confirming that student has a 

history of a language other than English. Once a student has been identified into the program using 

the three step process above, the student remains in the program until exited – see below.   
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There are three ways for a student to exit the English Learners program: 

1. A proficient/fluent score on the KELPA2. Starting in 2017-18, the state criteria to exit a 

student from an ESOL program is scoring proficient ONE year. For the following year, the 

district must choose one of two statuses for each student:  

 

a. monitored – this means the student is not receiving services. The district will not 

receive bilingual funding for a student on monitored status. 

b. transitional – the district has chosen to provide bilingual services for one year 

following a proficient KELPA. During this year, service must be provided. The district will 

receive bilingual funding for a transitional student only if services are provided. 

2. BLT or SIT recommends that the student be exited from ESOL services after one year, due 

to reasons that are NOT a result limited English proficiency, but that are noted on a 

student’s IEP.   

3. Parents withdraw their child from an ESOL program. 

 

Part II:  TEACHER QUALIFICATIONS 

A qualified teacher must have one of the following: 

• Holds a Kansas ESOL endorsement on count day; 

• Have a Kansas ESOL waiver on count day; 

• Have a Kansas ESOL provisional license on count day; 

• Have a Kansas restricted license on count day, having also passed the ESOL Praxis; 

• Have an ESOL Endorsement Plan of Study on file at the district office prior to the count day, with 

courses having begun prior to count day; or 

• Have passed the ESOL PRAXIS and have applied to KSDE Teacher Licensure and Accreditation team 

for endorsement before the official count day. 

 

Teachers assigned to teach the subject ESOL must hold an ESOL endorsement, or hold a waiver or 

provisional ESOL license or have passed the ESOL PRAXIS and applied to KSDE Teacher Licensure and 

Accreditation for endorsement. 

 

ESOL Endorsement Plan of Study 

A signed agreement with the district showing that the teacher will complete all ESOL endorsement 

coursework and obtain the Kansas ESOL endorsement within three years.  The three year time line 

begins the first day of the first class on the plan of study.   

 

Teachers must make ANNUAL progress toward completion. Teachers must complete at least one course 

each 12-month period and must receive a passing score of 149 or higher on the PRAXIS, and apply 

for/receive the ESOL endorsement from TLA within three years from the date they first began the 

endorsement program. For audit, provide documentation from the college showing the courses 

completed and claimed on the ESOL Endorsement Plan of Study. 

 

For the 2020-21 school year, annual progress will be fulfilled if the teacher has taken a class in any of the 

following college semesters: 

 

• Spring 2020 

• Summer 2020 

• Fall 2020 

• Spring 2021 
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The plan of study will follow the teacher. If a teacher begins the plan in one district and then obtains a 

job in a different district, the plan is still good as long as the three year limit has not been reached. 

 

If the endorsement is not yet in the teacher’s/district’s possession on the count day, a record that the 

teacher has applied for the KSDE ESOL endorsement prior to the count day must be on file in the 

district office. 

 

PARAPROFESSIONAL TIME 

A paraprofessional who is providing services to an EL must be under the direct supervision of an ESOL 

qualified teacher as described above.  

 

The supervising teacher must not supervise more than five paraprofessionals per year.  

 

Paraprofessionals must not be: 

• Solely responsible for ESOL instructional or related service; 

• Responsible for selecting, programming, or prescribing educational activities or materials for ELs 

without the supervision and guidance of the supervising teacher; 

• Solely responsible for preparing lesson plans or initiating original concept instruction; or 

• Used as substitute ESOL teachers, unless they hold the appropriate Kansas licensure. 

 

The supervising teacher meeting the criteria and the paraprofessional must work in close and frequent 

proximity.  In cases where the paraprofessional is not assigned to the same classroom as the teacher, 

the supervising teacher and paraprofessional must be in close proximity to one another and frequent 

and productive meetings between the two individuals must occur.  “Close proximity” is defined as being 

in an adjoining or adjacent building or structure. “Frequent and productive” means that the 

paraprofessional and the teacher are meeting at least once per week to review: lesson plans, 

instructional strategies, evaluation techniques, and weekly student progress/challenges.  Documentation 

that such meetings are occurring, including brief details about the instruction provided and student 

progress/challenges must be kept on file and state auditors may verify that such frequent and 

productive meetings are occurring. 

 

BILINGUAL/ESOL MINUTES REPORTED in KIDS  

 

KIDS Data Element D45 – ESOL/Bilingual Student Contact Minutes 

The number of minutes reported in KIDS for Bilingual Students (now known as English 

Learners) will be based on the amount of service provided to the student on September 21.  
 

A calculator is available on KSDE’s Fiscal Auditing webpage under the “Calculators” section and can be 

used to calculate ESOL/Biligual weighting. Instructions for how to use the calculator are included on the 

“Important Info” tab in the calculator.  

 

If the student is attending a regularly scheduled (same schedule every day) English Learners class, report 

the total minutes the student is in the class or classes, not including passing periods. If the school 

operates on a block schedule or modified block schedule the minutes reported would be the average 

number of minutes per day of bilingual/ESOL (English for Speakers of Other Languages)/service.   

 

If the student receives pull out services or a different amount of service each day, total the minutes for 

the five school days for the week that includes the count day and divide by five. 

https://www.ksde.org/Agency/Fiscal-and-Administrative-Services/Fiscal-Auditing
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If a teacher and para are working with the same student during the same period of time, the para time is 

not allowed. 

 

Students in grades K-12 are limited to 360 minutes. Students in preschool are limited to 180 minutes. 

 

COMPUTING BILINGUAL WEIGHTING 

 

Districts will receive bilingual weighting based on FTE enrollment x 0.395 or English Learner headcount x 

0.185, whichever is higher. This is not an option that districts will choose; all districts will report total 

contact minutes for the week of September 21 and then the weighting will be determined at the state 

level. 

 

For 2020-21 bilingual weighted funding will be based on the greater of the following: 

 

1. Bilingual FTE times 0.395:  The FTE calculation will be based on English Learner minutes 

reported in KIDS and calculated as before.  Total minutes for the five school days (from the week 

that includes count day) and divide by 5 to get minutes per day, then divide by 60 to get contact 

hours, then divide by 6 to get student FTE.  The resulting FTE is taken times 0.395 and rounded 

one decimal place or  

 

2. English Learners headcount times 0.185:  This is the total head count of students enrolled in an 

approved English Learner program x 0.185 and rounded one decimal place. 

 

Audit Requirements 

▪ Auditors must verify the following: 

▪ Teachers have an ESOL endorsement, or if on “Plan of Study,” have made annual progress and have not 

exceeded the three year limitation. 

▪ That students qualify for the program; this includes checking for home language surveys and test results. 

▪ That no one student has exceeded 360 minutes of English Learner services (180 minutes for Special 

Education preschool or preschool-aged at-risk (4-year-old at risk)). 

▪ For each student, check KELPA score for one year and if the district chose the option of placing a student 

on transitional status for one year, then also check whether services were provided during the transitional 

year. 

 

Career Technical Education (CTE) Weighting  

 

Classes eligible for extra (.5) funding must be approved by KSDE’s Career and Technical Education (CTE) 

team under the Pathways process. Within Pathways, the course code for each class offered at the high 

school must match the Pathways approved course code. 

 

The district must maintain a September 21 roster for each class approved for additional funding. The 

roster must have the exact course code as approved on the Pathways list. When a class includes both 

high-school-credit only students and dual-credit students, two separate rosters are needed to clearly 

show which students are taking the course for high school credit only and which students are currently 

taking or planning to take the course for dual credit. Further, when mapping courses in KSDE’s Kansas 

Course Code Management System (KCCMS), “L” should be used when mapping Excel in CTE/Kansas 
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Board of Regents-funded courses and “F” should be designated on the course when students take the 

course solely for high school credit. 

 

Classes taken at a Technical College or Community College are no longer eligible for .5 funding. Those 

classes are funded directly to the college by the Kansas Board of Regents. As noted above, such courses 

should be mapped with “L” in the KCCMS. 

 

Career and Technical Education Contact Minutes – D46 in KIDS 

Minutes are reported in KIDS for each student who is enrolled and attending an approved 

class.  

 

All calculations for minutes are rounded to whole minutes.  For example: 42.2 = 42, 42.5 = 43, 42.8 = 43.  

 

The method of determining minutes depends on the type of schedule the high school has.  

 

All examples below use the sample schedules found on pages 8-9 of this handbook and a flex-module 

schedule example is also included.  

 

Method 1 – Same schedule every day 

Use the number of minutes the class is in session for one day. 

 

Example 1:   

Student A attends only one approved class during period 1.    

Minutes reported in KIDS = 52. 

 

Example 2:  

Student B attends two approved classes that meet during periods 2 & 3.    

Minutes reported in KIDS = 103 (52+51). 

 

Method 2 – Block Schedule, every other day 

Use the average number of minutes per day. 

 

Example 3:  

Student C attends only one approved class during period 1.   

Minutes reported in KIDS = 45 (90 / 2). 

 

Example 4:  

Student D attends two approved classes that meet during periods 2 & 3.   

Minutes reported in KIDS = 90 (90 + 90 = 180 / 2) 

 

Method 3 – Modified Block Schedule 

Use the average number of minutes per day. 

 

Example 5:  

Student E attends only one approved class during period 1.   

Minutes reported in KIDS = 48 (50 + 50 + 90 + 50 = 240 / 5 = 48). 
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Example 6:  

Student F attends two approved classes that meet during periods 2 & 3.  

Minutes reported in KIDS = 96 (The average minutes for period 2 = 48, the average minutes for 

period 3 = 48, thus 48 + 48 = 96). 

 

Method 4 – Flex module / open modules / open periods schedule  

Regardless, you still must calculate the average number of CTE contact minutes per day. 

 

Example 7:   

Student G attends one approved CTE class each day. The school uses a “flex” or “open” period 

schedule. For this CTE course, the student is required to attend a pre-determined, mimimum 

number of periods each day and the student chooses to use one additional “flex” or “open” period 

each week to attend the class. 

 

Minutes reported in KIDS for Student G = 36 (The average minutes for periods the student is 

required to attend the CTE course: 40 + 60 +20 + 20 + 20 / 5 = 32) + (The average minimum 

minutes for any “flex or “open” periods the student also uses to attend the course: 20 / 5 days). So, 

32 + 4 = 36 minutes on average.   

 

Note about flex module / open modules / open periods schedule:  In such a schedule, for example, 

the student likely attends a required mimimum # of periods or minutes for the CTE course. In 

addition, the student may also choose to supplement that class time by use any “flex” or “open” 

periods to continue to attend the class, to ask the teacher additional questions or work on 

assignments related to the course.  “Flex” or “open” periods are often 20 minutes each and are 

scattered throughout the day and, in such a student-driven learning experience, and the student 

can choose how to use the flex/open time periods.  

 

Regardless, in a flex module / open module schedule, it is important to avoid over-claiming CTE minutes 

when reporting Career Technical Education Contact minutes in KIDS data field D46. When determining 

the number of periods a student is required to attend a CTE course approved for extra (.5) Pathway 

funding it is strongly suggested that the instructor, building principal and or any other appropriate 

staff meet well in advance of the current school year and agree on the minimum number of periods 

needed to ensure that a regularly enrolled student is academically successful in each CTE course.   

 

SCHOOLS THAT OPERATE ON A FOUR DAY WEEK 

Four day schools usually have a longer school day than traditional five day per week schools. Calculating 

CTE minutes for these schools is total minutes per week divided by five.  

 

 

Verifying the number of minutes claimed in KIDS.  

A simple method to verify the total minutes shown on the Principal Building Report (PBR) is to use a 

spreadsheet and list each approved class, the period that class meets, the number of minutes in that 

period, and the number of students enrolled in the class with a total for each class. An example is shown 

on the next page.  

  



2020-21 Enrollment Handbook  Page 45 

 

 

Using the Same Schedule Every Day example from page 8, such a spreadsheet might look like the 

following: 

  

 

Table 8 

How to Check the Number of CTE Minutes 

Claimed in KIDS 

 

Class Period Minutes Enrollment Total 

Accounting I 1 52 10 520 

Accounting I 2 52 10 520 

Animal Science 2 52 15 780 

Plant Science 3 51 15 765 

Total    2,585 

 

In this example, if the number of minutes claimed on the Principal Building Report (PBR) is not 2,585, 

there must be a problem. Look for students on the roster of the classes listed on your spreadsheet and 

be sure each student has been counted for the correct number of minutes. Note: the PBR is populated 

using data from KIDS and the data in KIDS is uploaded from your district’s local student information 

system. 

 

For your convenience, a calculator is available on KSDE’s Fiscal Auditing webpage under the “Calculators” 

section and can be used to calculate total CTE Contact minutes for each course as well as an overall 

total. Instructions for how to use the calculator are included on the “Important Info” tab in the calculator.  

 

Doubled-up and Nested Classes 

Districts need to check the CTE policy on Doubled-up classes (two classes taught during the same 

period) and Nested Classes (three or more classes taught during the same period) that can be found by 

clicking here: Double-up and Nesting CTE Courses Policy 

 

Note:  

 

• October 15th  is the due date for approval to nest CTE courses:  Approval for nesting CTE 

courses (three or more classes taught during the same period) must be obtained from KSDE by 

October 15 each year. This is not a new requirement; just an emphasis on annual requirement and 

due date. 

• No CTE weighting (.5) funding when:  No CTE weighted (.5) funding will be provided when a CTE-

funded course is paired/integrated/taught at the same time as a non-CTE/Pathways course. For 

example, pairing a required class (such as a class that all junior students must take) with a CTE 

weighted (.5) funding class would result in the CTE course not receiving CTE (.5) weighted 

funding (even if the course were approved for funding through KSDE’s Pathways process). KSDE’s 

policy to not fund such a combination is not new; this is just a reminder of the KSDE policy still in 

effect  

  

https://www.ksde.org/Agency/Fiscal-and-Administrative-Services/Fiscal-Auditing
https://www.ksde.org/Portals/0/CSAS/CSAS%20Home/CTE%20Home/Policy%20on%20Combining%20CTE%20Courses%20030421.pdf?ver=2021-03-05-122800-077
https://www.ksde.org/Portals/0/CSAS/CSAS%20Home/CTE%20Home/Policy%20on%20Combining%20CTE%20Courses%20030421.pdf?ver=2021-03-05-122800-077
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SEMINAR PERIOD 

Seminar is a block of time allotted within the school day where students have the opportunity to go to 

any teacher outside the regular class period and get help. Since CTE teachers are part of the seminar, 

some seminar time can be added to CTE Contact Minutes. Seminar time is computed seperately from 

class time and reported on the PBR. 

 

To compute “Seminar Minutes” you must first know the average number of minutes per day of the 

seminar period. This average number of minutes is then divided by the number of classes in a full time 

student’s schedule and rounded to a whole minute.   

 

Using the Same Schedule Every Day sample on page 8 and if the seminar is during period 6, then 52 is 

divided by 6 to get 8.666 which is rounded to 9. Next multiply the allowed seminar time (9 min.) by the 

number of students enrolled in approved classes.  This is made simple if you use the same spreadsheet 

shown above to verify the total minutes.   

Total the column with the enrollment in each class (in this case 50) and multiply by allowed seminar 

time. 50 X 9 = 450. On the PBR enter 450 in the seminar minutes section.  

 

Exceptions for counting seminar minutes 

Time for Professional Learning Experience (PLE), or In House Training (IHT), are not included in the 

seminar calculation. 

 

Students who have a class scheduled during the seminar period, or who are not scheduled in the 

building during seminar period, will not be included in the seminar count. 

 

If the teacher for any approved class has some other class scheduled during the seminar period, or is 

scheduled out of the building during the seminar period, all of that teacher’s technical education class’ 

enrollment will be excluded from the count.  

 

Using the example from the previous page, if the teacher for the Accounting I classes held in period 1 

and 2 is scheduled to teach a class in the Middle School during the period 6 seminar period, the 20 

students in those classes are excluded from the seminar count. 

 

Computing FTE 

 

All CTE minutes claimed on individual students plus the seminar minutes reported on the Principal 

Building Report (PBR) are added together and divided by 60 to get contact hours, contact hours are then 

divided by 6 and multiplied by the weighting factor (0.5) and rounded to one decimal place. 

 

Calculators are available on KSDE’s Fiscal Auditing webpage under the “Calculators” section. The CTE 

Contact Minutes Calculator and can be used to calculate total CTE Contact minutes for each course as 

well as an overall total. Instructions for how to use the calculator are included on the “Important Info” 

tab in the calculator. If you need help figuring out average daily minutes for each class, start with the 

calculator called the “Bell Schedule Calculator” and then input the resulting average daily minutes into 

the CTE Contact Minutes Calculator to calculate total CTE Contact minutes for each course as well as an 

overall total.  

  

https://www.ksde.org/Agency/Fiscal-and-Administrative-Services/Fiscal-Auditing
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Audit Requirements 

▪ Using the bell schedule for each high school, the auditor will determine the length of time for each 

period, if school is on a block schedule, the auditor will determine the average time for each period. 

▪ Complete the CTE worksheet in the audit write-up for each high school.   

▪ Verify that each class has been approved via the Pathway systems.   

▪ Be sure to account for any student for which an individual audit exception has been made. 

▪ Verify that all students listed on each class roster supplied by the school are enrolled in the district. 

(Keep in mind that students on the roster may include out-of-district students receiving special 

education services, but the students are claimed by another district; these students should not be 

included in the count.) 

▪ Input into the Auditor Application any computed change in contact minutes for each school in both 

class minutes and seminar time. 

 

 

Transportation Weighting 

 

Districts will receive transportation weighting based on costs attributable to providing transportation.  

 

Calculating transportation weighting: Transportation weighting is calculated with a per capita allowance 

based on a school district’s density figure, which is the area of a school district in square miles divided by 

the number of transported students. (K.S.A. 72-5148) The law also limits the proportion of a school 

district’s State Foundation Aid attributable to the transportation weighting to no more than 110% of a 

school district’s total transportation expenditures for the immediately preceding school year. 

 

Minimum/Maximum level of funding: State law provides for a statutory minimum level of transportation 

funding as 2016-17 school year. The statutory minimum expires June 30, 2021. However, as noted 

above, the same law limits transportation weighting to no more than 110% of the district’s total 

transportation expenditures for the immediately preceding school year.  

 

Districts receive no funding for transporting out-of-district students. 

 

Audit Requirements (Transportation FTE) 

• Verify that students are not riding a bus paid for from another fund (Special Education). 

• Homebound students are not included as riding a bus. 

• Part-time private school children are reported for FTE equal to their enrollment FTE. 

 

Using a mapping program to help determine home to school building distances for each student claimed for 

transportation weighting, KSDE auditors will verify whether students claimed for transportation weighting and 

if needed, drive any routes that are suspect of being less than 2.5 miles.  
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Virtual Students – Funding 

 

Virtual students 19 and under are funded based on the number of minutes enrolled and are not eligible 

for any weightings. Virtual students 20 and over will be funded based on credits earned the prior year 

from July 1 to June 30 (up to a maximum of six credits). 

 

Only students attending virtual schools and programs approved by KSDE will be counted.   

 

NOTE: The age related eligibility date for virtual schools and programs does not change year to year; it is 

always September 20th.  

 

• Virtual students 19 and under are funded based on the number of minutes enrolled and are not 

eligible for any weightings. (Full-time funded at $5,000, part-time funded at $1,700 x FTE). 

• Virtual students 20 and over will be funded $709 per credit earned from July 1, to June 30 (up to 

a maximum of six credits). 

 

Virtual students 19 and under must be enrolled and attending in September in order to be counted. (No 

second count date.) 

 

Virtual students 20 and over - funding for credits earned is available for both semesters: 

• Students who are enrolled for 1st semester – submit data on the ENRL records.  

• Students who enroll after count window/during a semester – submit an ASGT record in KIDS.   

 

Virtual students 19 and under - if student is attending a traditional school in one district and a virtual 

school/program in another district the traditional school counts minutes first, the virtual school is limited 

to remaining minutes. 

 

Finally, virtual students are not included in the calculation of the district’s Local Option budget (LOB).  

 

Audit Requirements (Virtual) 

• Verify credits earned prior year by virtual students age 20 and over. 

• Check duplicate list and make appropriate audit exceptions. 

• For students 19 and under attending virtually, verify enrollment and attendance minutes. 
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Low/High Enrollment Weighting 

 

Low/High Enrollment weighting is assigned to districts with enrollment FTE of less than 1,622.0 and High 

Enrollment weighting is assigned to districts with enrollment of 1,622 or more per K.S.A.72-5149. The 

weighting is automatically calculated on the SO66 and in the Audit Application using the following 

formula: 

 

 

Table 9 

Low/High Enrollment Weighting Formula 

 

Adjusted Enrollment of 

District 
Factor or Formula 

0 – 99.9 1.014331 

100 – 299.9 ({[7,337-9.655(E-100)]/3642.4}-1) 

300-1621.9 ({[5406-1.2375(E-300]/3642.4}-1) 

1,622 and over .03504 

 

Note: In the above formula, “E” represents total adjusted enrollment of the district 

 

Audit Requirements: None, automatically calculated. 

 

Special Education Weighting 

  

For General Fund purposes, the special education weighting is the current year special 

education state aid received by the school district divided by the base aid for student 

excellence (BASE).   

 

For Local Option Budget purposes, special education weighting was intended to give school districts 

additional spending authority. The Special Education weighting is actually a Local Option Budget (LOB) 

enhancement allowed by state law. The Local Option Budget is increased by having the district’s special 

education categorial aid flow through the general fund. Current law allows districts to adopt an LOB 

based on the greater of: 

 

1. 2020-21 Special Education State Aid 

2. 2008-09 Special Education State Aid 
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Listed below are selected USDs eligible for Ancillary Facilities or Cost of Living weightings.   

 

Ancillary Facilities Weighting 

 

Ancillary school facilities weighting may be assigned to the enrollment of a district only if the district has 

levied a tax under authority of K.S.A. 72-5158, and remitted the proceeds from such tax to the state 

treasurer.   

 

Currently, the only districts that qualify for ancillary facilities weighting are: 

▪ USD 229 – Blue Valley 

▪ USD 230 – Spring Hill 

▪ USD 231– Gardner Edgerton 

▪ USD 233 – Olathe 

 

Cost of Living Weighting 

 

Cost of Living weighting is available only to those districts where the average appraised value of single 

family residences is 25% more than the statewide average appraised value of single family residences 

for the calendar year preceding the current school year (K.S.A. 72-5159). 

 

For the 2020-21 school year, school districts below are eligible for the weighting but may not have applied for 

it. 

 

USD 203  Piper… 3.25% 

USD 229  Blue Valley… 5.00% 

USD 230  Spring Hill…  5.00% 

USD 231  Gardner… 1.54% 

USD 232  DeSoto…  5.00% 

USD 233  Olathe…  4.91% 

USD 265 Goddard…  0.02% 

USD 266  Maize…  1.12% 

USD 323  Rock Creek…  0.04% 

USD 348  Baldwin …  0.78% 

USD 368  Paola …  0.47% 

USD 383  Manhattan…  1.06% 

USD 385  Andover…  5.00% 

USD 416  Louisburg…  2.84% 

USD 437  Auburn-Washburn…  1.32% 

USD 458  Basehor-Linwood…  3.48% 

USD 464  Tonganoxie…  1.35% 

USD 469  Lansing…  1.26% 

USD 497  Lawrence… 1.48% 

USD 512  Shawnee Mission …  4.68% 

 

 

 

 

To compute Cost of Living Weighting: 

 

Total Estimated Weighted Enrollment not including Cost of Living times the Base Aid for Student 

Excellence (BASE) times the allowed percentages shown above. This gives you the computed Cost of 

Living amount. Take the lessor of the computed Cost of Living amount or the Board of Tax Appeals 

approved amount divided by the BASE gives you the new Cost of Living Weighting. 
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Audit Requirements: 

• Cost of Living weightings will need to be recalculated after all other portions of the enrollment audit 

are completed. After audit review, adjust the audit write-up to include the recalculation. 

• If the district receives either ancillary or cost of living weighting, verify that the FTE assigned to these 

are included in the Total Estimated Weighted Enrollment of the district (which excludes Special 

Education).  
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KSDE Contact Information: 
 

Fiscal Auditing | Laurel Murdie, Director | (785) 296-4976 | lmurdie@ksde.org 

School Finance | S. Craig Neuenswander, Director | (785) 296-3872 | craign@ksde.org 

 

 
An Equal Employment/Educational Opportunity Agency | The Kansas State Department of Education does not discriminate on the 

basis of race, color, national origin, sex, disability, or age in its programs and activities and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts 

and other designated youth groups. The following person has been designated to handle inquiries regarding the non-

discrimination policies: KSDE General Counsel, Office of General Counsel, KSDE, Landon State Office Building, 900 SW Jackson, 

Suite 102, Topeka, KS 66612, (785) 296-320 

mailto:lmurdie@ksde.org
mailto:craign@ksde.org
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Appendix 
 

There has been some confusion regarding virtual fifth-year seniors and adults and Virtual State Aid for 

those who are 19 and under and 20 years and over.  

 

To clarify: 

 

▪ Fifth-year seniors may enroll in virtual schools and programs approved to serve 12th grade students. 

They may also enroll in virtual schools and programs approved to serve adult students. They can 

participate with either group of students, but they will be coded in the KIDS system in a grade level 

based on credits earned, because they do not meet the definition of Adult. 

 

▪ The definition of adult (which applies to all adult students in the state, virtual and otherwise) is “a 

general education student who is over the age of 18 AND whose fifth-year cohort has graduated, or 

any student over the age of 21.” Students who meet this definition will be coded in the KIDS system 

as Not Graded. 

 

▪ The terms “fifth-year senior” and “adult” have NOTHING to do with funding. These are terms KSDE 

uses to denote grade level and position within the graduation cohort.  

 

▪ Traditional and alternative funding is NOT differentiated based on age. Traditional and alternative 

students will be funded based on minutes enrolled. 

 

▪ Virtual funding IS differentiated based on age. Virtual students 19 and under will be funded based 

on minutes enrolled. Virtual students 20 and over will be funded based on credits completed.  

 

▪ The age determination date for virtual funding is always September 20th. 

 

▪ Virtual schools and programs MAY encounter a disconnect between the terms “12th grade student” 

and “fifth-year senior” and the way that these students will be funded based on age. There may be 

some 12th grade students who are 20 and over and are funded based on credits completed. There 

may be some fifth-year seniors who are 19 and under and are funded on minutes enrolled. Virtual 

schools and programs will need to pay close attention to this possibility. 

 

▪ KSDE encourages virtual schools and programs NOT to set enrollment criteria based on age, but 

rather on grade level and to just be prepared for students that overlap the ‘19 and under’ and ‘20 

and over’ funding categories.  

 

 

 

 

 


