

900 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 600 Topeka, Kansas 66612-1212 (785) 296-3203 www.ksde.org Danny Zeck District 1

Dr. Deena Horst District 6 Melanie Haas District 2

District 7

Michelle Dombrosky District 3 Ann E. Mah District 4

Jim Porter District 9 Cathy Hopkins District 5 Jim McNiece District 10

Meeting Agenda Tuesday, September 10, 2024

TIME		ITEM	PRESENTER	
10:00 a.m.		 Call to order and Roll Call Mission Statement, moment of silence, pledge of allegiance Approval of agenda Approval of minutes for August 13 & 14, 20 	Melanie Haas, Chair	
10:05 a.m.		5. Commissioner's Report	25 min	Dr. Randy Watson
10:30 a.m.	(IO)	6. Citizen's Open Forum	15 min	
10:45 a.m.	(RI)	7. School Improvement: Receive At Risk List Update and Pilot Districts	30 min	Dr. Ben Proctor Dr. Frank Harwood
11:15 a.m.		Break (10 minutes)		
11:25 a.m.	(IO)	8. Overview of Legislative Requirements for Reports and Trainings	30 min	Dr. Frank Harwood Gabrielle Hull
12 NOON		Lunch (1.5 hours)		
1:30 p.m.	(IO)	9. Kansas Future Teachers Academy	1 hour	Todd Roberts Amy Hillman and future teachers
2:30 p.m.		Break and pictures (15 min)		
2:45 p.m.		10. Student Showcase: Akshay Nair, Blue Valley USD 229; Elise Davis, De Soto USD 232	30 min	Denise Kahler, Director, Communications
3:15 p.m.	(AI)	11. Act on Evaluation Updates from the Board Policy Committee	20 min	Betty Arnold, Chair of Board Policy Committee
3:35 p.m.	(AI)	12. Act on Professional Practices Commission Items	10 min	Scott Gordon, KSDE General Counsel
		Break (10 min)		
3:55 p.m.	(IO)	13. Preview of Kansas Assessment Program (KAP) enhanced and refreshed instructional mini tests, interim and summative assessments and reports. Beth Fultz, Director, KSDE Career, Standards and Assessment will introduce.	45 min	Julie Ewing, KSDE assistant director for assessments Susan Dressler Martin, Director of Assessment & Technology Solutions at the KU Achievement & Assessment Institute
4:40 p.m.		Recess until Wednesday		



900 S.W. Jackson Street, Suite 600 Topeka, Kansas 66612-1212 (785) 296-3203 www.ksde.org Danny Zeck District 1 Melanie Haas District 2

Dennis Hershberger District 7 Michelle Dombrosky District 3

> Betty J. Arnold District 8

Ann E. Mah District 4

Co

Cathy Hopkins District 5 Jim McNiece District 10

Meeting Agenda Wednesday, September 11, 2024

TIME	ITE	EM	PRESENTER
9:00 a.m.	1.	Call to Order	Melanie Haas, Chair
9:05 a.m. (IO	2.	School Improvement LTRS training for teachers and staff 30 min	Dr. Ben Proctor
9:35 a.m. (A)3.	9	Dr. Catherine Chmidling, Teacher Licensure
9:45 a.m.		Break (10 min)	
9:55 a.m. (A)4.	-	Dr. Jay Scott, Director, Accreditation & Design
10:10 a.m. (Al	5.		Shane Carter, Director, Teacher Licensure
·	1)6.		Dr. Catherine Chmidling, Teacher Licensure
10.40 a.m. (Al	7.		Wendy Fritz, Director, HR
		Review Committee	Shane Carter, Director, Teacher Licensure
		c. Act on teacher licensure waivers	Shane Carter
		d. Act on request from USD 261 Haysville for capital improvement (bond and interest) state aid	Dr. Frank Harwood
		e. Act on request from USD 261 Haysville to hold a bond election.	Dr. Frank Harwood
		f. Act on request from USD 273 Beloit for capital improvement (bond and interest) state aid	Dr. Frank Harwood
		gAct on request from USD 273 Beloit to hold a bond election	
		h. Act on request from USD 339 Jeff County North for capital improvement (bond and interest) state aid	Dr. Frank Harwood
		i. Act on request from USD 339 Jeff County North to hold a bond election	Dr. Frank Harwood

	j. Act on request from USD 340 Jeff County West fo capital improvement (bond and interest) state aid	
	k. Act on request from USD 340 Jeff County West to hold a bond election	
	I. Act on request from USD 394 Rose Hill for capital improvement (bond and interest) state aid	Dr. Frank Harwood
	m. Act on request from USD 394 Rose Hill to hold a bond election	Dr. Frank Harwood
	n. Act on request from USD 500 Kansas City for capitol improvement (bond and interest) state aid	Dr. Frank Harwood
	o. Act on request from USD 500 Kansas City to hold a bond election	Dr. Frank Harwood
	p. Act on new member for the Special Ed Advisory Committee (SEAC)	Bert Moore, Director, Special Education
	 q. Act on request to consent to initiate the contract bid process for an Education Technology Coordinator for E-Rate 	Jenni Marlatt, Information Technology
	r. Notification to Kansas State Board of Education o the intention of one private school to participate in the TCLISSP	f Dr. Frank Harwood
10:55 a.m.	Chair's Report 15 min	
	a. Remarks from the Chair	
	b. Remarks from the Board Attorney	
	c. Act on board travel requests (Al)	
	d. Committee reports	
	e. Requests for future agenda items	
11:10 a.m.	Adjourn	
1:00 p.m.	Board Retreat at Kansas Health Institute at 212 SW 8 th Avenue, Topeka (Just north of the Capitol)	Moderated by Dr. Brian Jordan, Executive Director of Kansas Association of School Boards (KASB) Dr. Doug Moeckel, Field Specialist for KASB